RSS

Too much!

17 Aug

I know I’m starting to sound like a broken record, but too much! That’s what I’ve got going on. Too much! The 12 hour days continue. Today I finally cracked, getting all misty-eyed on my lunch break from the stress/boredom/loneliness/lack of time to even breathe let alone get anything done besides packing the next day’s breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Shawn wisely convinced me to take the afternoon off and I’m so grateful for the small reprieve. The mental health time was sorely needed. I am run down. Shawn took me to get coffee and to the new Hobby Lobby by his house. I have never in my life been with such a wonderfully patient male (or possibly person) in a craft store. He looked at beads and yarns with me, giving opinions and never once let out a “are you done yet” sigh. Even as I checked dye lots and eventually put everything back, deciding I wouldn’t really wear anything quite so fuzzy. Even fuzzy things that would look like I used Oscar the Grouch’s pelt. (Mostly because I’ve done it before, and I don’t wear it.) Thanks love!

An aside: I LOVE this yarn, but what would I make out of it besides a scarf?

The books on tape are good for the boredom part, but I have to admit that listening to the Lord of the Rings is kind of stressful. I’ve been trying to get to bed a little earlier, but I haven’t really taken that much time for myself. Certainly no knitting. But honestly I’m not inspired by anything I have on the needles right now. It’s mostly just stuff to use up leftovers. And I’m too daunted to even think about Drunken Argyle (sorry Dad – by Christmas, I promise.) I think I’ve interested Shawn in My So Called Scarf though, so that could be something fun.

Here are some pictures of some bead stuff I did a few weeks ago and finally took the time to photograph. Nothing exciting I must say.


However, this was exciting:

I signed up for the Sampler and got my first package today. Here are my favorites:


Now I’m going to watch a movie. And breathe.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2006 in general craftiness, other bits of life

 

5 responses to “Too much!

  1. Vegan Knitting

    August 18, 2006 at 12:32 am

    What’s the Sampler?
    Sorry you’re having such a hard time with work! My husband used to work 9 hours a day, 6 days a week, was in 2 bands, had a girlfriend, and was writing. I have no idea how he did it!

     
  2. Imbrium

    August 18, 2006 at 11:42 am

    Mmm…breathing. It’s a good thing.
    So no scarf, huh? What about a really cute bag? Or…um…uh…a scarf? Yeah, I don’t know either, but that yarn is great.

     
  3. Vegan Knitting

    August 21, 2006 at 3:15 pm

    I looked up the sampler after I wrote the comment. I WANNA JOIN!!! But I can’t because they’re not open for subscriptions now. Waaaahhh!
    Oh, and I have an idea for the yarn – what about making the X-back Tank Top from Knitty?
    http://knitty.com/ISSUEspring05/PATTxback.html

     
  4. Erin

    August 23, 2006 at 8:11 pm

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve been so burnt out. I’ve been there. You really just need to take a day or two for yourself if you can manage it. Hopefully you have a bit of a break coming up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
