RSS

Blogiversary

27 Aug

Yay! It’s been a whole year. And it’s fitting that my blogiversary brings with it a newly rekindled urge to knit. I’m making My So Called Scarf for Shawn. My fellow vegan knitters will note that this is indeed Manos del Uruguay. I had a bit of a debate with myself about the ethics – supporting a women’s cooperative vs. avoiding wool at any cost (much more about my thoughts on this in general in an old post if you’re interested). But when it comes down to it, I just really wanted to work with this yarn and the colors were beautiful, I bought another colorway for myself. I don’t plan to make a habit of it, and I’m looking forward to using some lovely bamboo yarn on my next project, but there you have it, please don’t kick me out of the ring. 🙂

Now, in the true spirit of blogiversaries, presents! Leave me a comment on any of this week’s posts (Sunday, August 27th – Friday, September 1st) and I will use everyone’s favorite random number generator to pick a few of you to receive the item of your choice from my etsy shop.

Thank you all for making this year a little brighter!

xoxo.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2006 in knitting

 

9 responses to “Blogiversary

  1. Robyn

    August 27, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    Manos is a very lovely yarn. They also make a wonderful cotton yarn called Cotton Stria, but fewer yarns stores carry it. If you are interested in ethically produced yarns you should also check out Malabrigo which also made in a women’s cooperative. I just ordered some for my shop and it is amazingly soft.

     
  2. Lolly

    August 27, 2006 at 8:09 pm

    The Manos is lovely – the colors are so rich.
    Best wishes, and happy blogiversary!! 🙂

     
  3. Vegan Knitting

    August 27, 2006 at 9:53 pm

    Congrats on your blogiversary!!!
    I was originally going to make the teacher I work with a scarf with Manos but she didn’t haven’t enough and gave me Brown Sheep instead. I didn’t feel comfortable with that as it’s such a big company. So I used Rowan All-seasons cotton instead. Sure is a pretty color! I want to make that scarf but I can’t figure out how to do the stitches from looking at the pattern. I guess I need to try with a swatch.

     
  4. Kelly

    August 28, 2006 at 5:12 am

    Happy anniversary!!!!
    The manos is yummy and will look fantastic in the My so called scarf pattern!

     
  5. Mary

    August 28, 2006 at 8:37 am

    Happy Bloggiversary!
    I keep putting off “my So-Called Scarf” as socks keep JUMPING onto the needles to be knit, I swear! I’ve lost all control of the project of the hour around here. If I go to a yarn shop lately sock yarn simply appears at the register saying I’m buying it…and so another pair on the to-do list…magic I tell ya.

     
  6. emily

    August 28, 2006 at 10:23 am

    Happy Blogiversary!
    I’ve looked at the My So Called Scarf pattern. I love the pattern and will eventually find a vegan yarn that is perfect for it (I don’t like the feel of any wool, although Manos does have lovely colors and I would be more okay with wool that supports a women’s cooporative).

     
  7. Imbrium

    August 28, 2006 at 10:41 am

    Oooh…that yarn is perfect for the My So Called Scarf. Pretty pretty.
    Happy blogiversay, dearest! I’m certainly glad you’re around, and that you drug me out of my shell. The world is a better place with you in it.

     
  8. melanie

    August 29, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Happy Blogiversary! Let me also chime in for the Malabrigo. It’s cheaper and softer than the Manos, but with just the same gorgeous colorways and also made by a women’s coop. Manos is lovely indeed, but I found it to be a little too scratchy around the neck…

     
  9. Erin

    August 30, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    Congratulations on your blogiversary! I was just reading your link to the old post about vegan knitting. I myself am not a vegan knitter, but I can understand why you are and why you get tired of defending your position. I can completely understand that. I’m a vegetarian, but I occassionally eat fish and I’m tired of defending myself, especially in a town where vegetarians are few and far between. I suppose it just gets old repeating the same argument.
    Anyway, I can relate. Enjoy the Manos, it’s one of my mom’s favorite yarns!

     

Leave a Reply

 
