RSS

Knitty

13 Sep

While I haven’t been knitting too much lately, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been thinking about knitting. I’ll pull together a post with some pictures of the projects that are on my mind sometime soon. And I’ll be picking Drunken Argyle back up this Thursday with the resurrection of my knitting group. In the meantime here are my takes on the patterns in the new Knitty:

Overall I have to say I was uninspired.

  • Viveka – My first thought was, wow, what a cute maternity sweater. Later realizing it’s not a maternity sweater I now want nothing to do with a sweater that would make me look pregnant. (Someone correct me if you know whether the model is pregnant or not.) Also, in the first pictures the sleeves look cool and slouchy, but then I see that they’re really big bells. I’m tired of bell sleeves. I will say it looks incredibly comfy.
  • Lucie – I like the collar idea, but am completely opposed to the color choice and mildly opposed to the trim.
  • Cactus Flower – Meh.
  • Ivy – I’m tired of wrap sweaters too… but this seems like a perfectly nice one.
  • Serrano – I think this one is adorable and definitely something I could wear to work.
  • Avast – Perfectly nice guy’s jacket.
  • Sherwood – That kid is too adorable for me to be able to think about the sweater.
  • Intolerable Cruelty – um. no.
  • Little slip of a thing – Cute. Too bad I don’t felt.
  • Lizard Ridge – Gorgeous! Wondering how it would work with other yarns.
  • Red Herring – I so don’t care about socks. Sorry. Cute name though.
  • Cablenet – I just can’t be bothered with something so fiddly. Knitting (for me) is supposed to be relaxing and mindless.
  • Sox on 2 stix – Interesting idea. Super plain sox.
  • Diamante – See Cablenet
  • Ayla – Cute for a little girl I guess.
  • Sugar on snow – Another cute idea that I will never make.
  • Tamarah – See Cablenet
  • Twiggy tweed – I kind of like this one, but it could just be the model’s t-shirt selling me.
  • Back to school – Totally uninterested.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 13, 2006 in knitting

 

4 responses to “Knitty

  1. Kasha

    September 13, 2006 at 3:54 pm

    I’m with you on most of the patterns. Meh. You don’t like Twiggy Tweed, you love that hott ass t-shirt, as do I. But I love Sugar on Snow. I just barely get it, but I love it so!

     
  2. Erin

    September 13, 2006 at 6:47 pm

    I completely agree. I was not inspired at all by the new Knitty. It just seemed like the same old, same old to me.

     
  3. claire

    September 13, 2006 at 8:39 pm

    I think the lesson learned with viveka is that if you are really skinny having a poorly fitted sweater with no waist shaping what-so-ever will only make you look slightly pregnant. On anyone else, it will make you look really pregnant. Oh… ESPECIALLY when you’re using that kind of yarn. It has no body at all. It just …. hangs there… all limp and lifeless… which only enhances the pregnancy look.
    Also, I have a beef with the yarn company. Well, sorta. I bought three skeins of a Suss yarn when I went to their store in LA. They’re SO asking to get it from the people who regulate how fibers are labled. You know, the guys who go after people labling acrylic as cashmere. Anyway… they had a bunch of yarn labled as 100% angora with a lone skein of the same yarn (in the same lot number) marked 70% nylon/30% angora. I tell you, selling yarn that is 70% nylon as 100% angora is plain wrong. (and no way this laceweight wasn’t mostly nylon.)
    My other beef was that ALL of their yarn was labled as being the same guage on size 9 needles. I’m freaking sorry. Laceweight yarn does not get knit on size 9 needles. Yes, I understand that people are scared to knit something with small needles or whatever. Yes, I understand that her store very VERY obviously catered to the ‘rich and trendy’ crowd who would spend $400 on the handknit little shrugs she had there and then $1,000 on silk to ‘test this whole knitting thing out’ but seriously. List something that could resemble an accurate guage on ONE of your yarns.
    That’s it. I’m off the soapbox.

     
  4. Vegan Knitting

    September 13, 2006 at 10:07 pm

    Hmmmm. I like this issue much better than the summer one. Of course I’m making the Fetching gloves from the summer one and not doing anything from this one yet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
