RSS

Knitting!

21 Sep

I was able to tear myself away from transcription today for 2 hours to make some actual progress on Drunken Argyle. Sure, it’s only 3 rows, but look at what my knitting guru friend (who I named the most genius-est genius that ever did genius) came up with:

I was staring at the mass of 13 bobbins wondering how on earth I was going to keep them from becoming a painful disaster. I had even gone so far as to declare I’d just wait and worry about that once I had a mess. Then she asked, “Could you just clip them to the bottom of the sweater?” Genius! They were snagging the yarn a bit though, so we came up with this piece of cardboard idea. I love it.

I also love this sock yarn. Shhhhhh…. Don’t tell anyone it’s just plain old superwash. At least it’s hand dyed and from etsy…. And it’s named after the dragons Harry Potter et al fought in the Tri Wizard Tournament. How cute is that? I’m thinking the Hungarian Horntail will be for Shawn and the Welsh Green will be for me, but I haven’t started looking at patterns yet. I’d like something fairly simple and easy, without being too too plain. I’m also thinking about trying a toe up so that I can just go til I run out of yarn, but we’ll see …

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2006 in knitting

 

4 responses to “Knitting!

  1. Lolly

    September 22, 2006 at 6:04 am

    Ooo, a knitting post! Look at the pretty new yarns. Just perfecto for Socktoberfest πŸ™‚

     
  2. Mary

    September 22, 2006 at 8:02 am

    I don’t know what better yarns to use for Marnie Macleans “dragon socks”…technically they’re called Wyvern Woman, but they’re dragon socks, go see:
    http://marniemaclean.com/patterns/Wyvern/index.html

     
  3. Claire

    September 26, 2006 at 1:33 pm

    You should check out the new yarn Elann just released. It’s a chainette Ramie (kinda like linen)/Cotton blend. Sounds right up your alley. Vegan and inexpensive.
    Better yet, we should get some and have a dying get-together party since it only comes in natural. If I like it maybe I’ll try for a cardigan like your brown one?? The more I see you wear it the more I want one too. And the more I want it in cotton.
    -“the most genius-est genius that ever did genius” hehehe.

     
  4. ellie

    September 26, 2006 at 4:51 pm

    Lolly – Soctoberfest is the plan!
    Mary – I think we’ve picked something out of “Knit Socks” at least for Shawn’s pair, but dragon socks in dragon yarn would be awesome.
    Claire – You are so on! Genius πŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
