RSS

Mail call.

24 Sep

I’m in the home stretch! Friday was my last day at my two part time jobs. Monday is my first day at my new full time job. It starts with a four hour benefits orientation. Joy. Needless to say, I’m taking knitting. This will also be my last week of transcription, since it has to be done by the end of the month. Eight tapes to go. I can’t wait to have my evenings to myself again! (Though I do have plans for Monday night anime night, Wednesday night Project Runway, gym, and Lost with Shawn, and  Thursday night knitting group, as well as a possible Spanish conversation group in the works, so “to myself” is a relative term…)

This weekend I took a cake decorating class at Whole Foods. It was super fun. I made these:

I know it’s blurry, but we ate them before I found out, so it will have to do.

In knitting news, I was delighted to find Miss Hawklet who purchases “farm or what I call “animal friendly” wool and mohair from a small
rescue farm in Wisconsin, where I know the sheep are spoiled rotten!” I got these two lovely skeins from her.

I believe the pink will be a hat and the purple a scarf, but that’s for later. I have Drunken Argyle, Shawn’s scarf, and Socktoberfest first.

Speaking of Shawn, we got new comforters for his bed this weekend.

Why? This is why:

That yellow stain? The one on the exposed filling? That’s dog pee. Parker and B are not exactly what I would call friends, and though they can mostly be around each other and even all curl up on the bed and snuggle, she’ll still swipe at him sometimes and he feels the need to mark his territory whenever I bring her over.

Last up is this month’s sampler package:

A lot of that is really just business cards though. Here are the highlights:

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2006 in general craftiness

 

4 responses to “Mail call.

  1. Vegan Knitting

    September 25, 2006 at 12:42 am

    Nice comforter!!! I love the colors.
    I have some vegan yarn from Miss Hawklet – a beautiful spun soy silk. I don’t know what to make from it yet. If I had known you didn’t know about her, I would have told you. Do you know about Insubordiknit? I also have two skeins from her.

     
  2. laura

    September 25, 2006 at 7:34 am

    those cakes look adorable!

     
  3. ellie

    September 26, 2006 at 5:01 pm

    Vegan Knitting – Thanks! Me too! I knew about Insubordiknit (her stuff goes so fast!), but not Miss Hawklet. I’m looking forward to knitting with some bamboo too.
    Laura – Thanks! They were also yummy, though I can’t take any credit for that.

     

Leave a Reply

 
