RSS

My sock history.

04 Oct

Lolly posted some great questions for Socktoberfest. Here are my answers.

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

My first pair of socks was for Socktoberfest last year. I guess I mostly
taught myself out of Knit Socks! with my frequently mentioned knitting guru
friend (aka the most genius-est genius that ever did genius) there for backup.

What was your first pair?  How have they “held up” over time?

Like Almost Felted, my first pair was for my at-the-time boyfriend, so I don’t know what they’re up to these days. He did light them on fire once, to show someone how the fuzzies burn off but don’t ignite the whole sock. I tried my best not to scream as he lit my hand-made socks on fire. Sure, it was a neat trick, but come on, do it with something I didn’t hand-make for you, would you? At least he oo-ed and ah-ed over them appropriately and wore them all the time.

What would you have done differently?

Never moved in with the bastard. Oh wait, you mean about the socks? Maybe
dropped a needle size, but really they were fine.

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

I haven’t really loved any of them honestly. The first was stretchy, which
wasn’t a big deal, but wasn’t great. The Sidar was super fun to work with, but
is no good to wear with shoes, and this latest had big tangle problems. We’ll
see how it wears. They’ve all been beautiful though.

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

So far I’ve only used double point needles. I’m interested in checking out two circulars or the magic loop, but haven’t bothered to yet. Plus there’s something about working with DPNs that makes me feel talented or old school or something. Plus I don’t see a need to go buying new circulars to do those methods when I have perfectly good DPNs. I do use metal DPNs though after breaking the first wood pair I borrowed.

Which kind of heel do you prefer?  (flap? or short-row?)

I did enjoy the flap heel quite a bit. We’ll see what I think of the short
row after the Wyvern.

How many pairs have you made?

Just two.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2006 in knitting

 

2 responses to “My sock history.

  1. Lolly

    October 5, 2006 at 12:03 pm

    heehee – you got me with that one question! I laughed out loud! 🙂 Thanks for answering the questions, E!

     
  2. ellie

    October 5, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    Thanks for coming up with them Lolly!

     

Leave a Reply

 
