RSS

New swap!

07 Oct

I’ve just joined a new swap and I want to encourage others to sign up too. It’s called Vegan Pal, but you don’t have to be vegan to join. All the swap items do need to be vegan though.

From the swap blog:

“One need not be vegan to participate!! We’re actually hoping that some of you aren’t! There are many reasons for this, but the main two are: there aren’t that many vegans out there and we want to share vegan products with those of you who are interested and open-minded enough to try something new. Also, there seem to be many knitters who are allergic to animal fibers, and this should be great fun for you all too!”

Here are my answers to the questionnaire (select the category “questionnaires and gift lists” for similar ‘about me’ stuff):

1.) What is your craft, & how long have you been doing it?

I’m a knitter and miscellaneous crafter. I learned to knit in 1997, but then kind of dropped it for a few years and picked it back up 2003/4 and did nothing but reverse garter stitch (Is that even a term? It was all purling) scarves (for pay) for a year before branching out. So basically really only about 2 years. But technically almost 10.

Likewise, I learned to cross stitch when I was very young, picked it back up in high school along with embroidery, beaded bracelets on looms, and knotted friendship bracelets, forgot about it for a while and picked embroidery back up a few months ago. I have GOBS of embroidery floss.

I’ve also been playing around with beads for a few months and have grand schemes to sew myself a dress (I sewed a lot in junior high and high school). This dress actually.

2.) Are you a vegan, vegetarian, veg-curious, veg-friendly or other?

I’m a former vegan, current vegetarian with strong vegan leanings. I try to only buy vegan groceries and vegan yarns, but I’ll have the occasional bit of cheese or ice cream or whatever if I’m out at a restaurant. I don’t drink milk or eat eggs, but I won’t necessarily turn down a brownie kind of sums it up.

3.) What is your favorite color(s)? Do you particularly dislike a color(s)?

I’m currently doing a lot with brown. Which is taking over from my black obsession which still lingers a bit. As far as colors go, I would say that the purpose makes a big difference. I would never wear something that was a pastel or a bright garish color, I go for neutrals in that regard, but house decorations or jewelry or office supplies are a completely different story. I love my neon pink translucent clip board.

4.) Do you have any allergies (such as pets, foods or cigarette smoke)?

I certainly don’t like the smell of cigarettes, but my only allergy is dust and maybe mold, so nothing that would affect a swap.

5.) Do you have any companion animals? If so, names and types?

I have a calico kitty named B. She’s a terror, but I love her.

6.) Do you collect anything?

I collect those rubber bouncy balls from quarter machines.

7.) Do you have a favorite vegan food, snack or dish? If no fav that’s vegan (for those who aren’t vegan), what’s your favorite food? (Hopefully your pal can find a vegan version!)

Tofutti fudge pops! (but those aren’t mailable.) which reminds me that one time ever I had this awesome huge tofutti chipwhich kind of thing. One of my brother’s friends had brought them to our house. I have no idea where she got them and I’ve never seen them since.

Mailable foods… I like sour, sweet, and salty, but not spicy or fruity. I also love loose leaf tea, but again, not fruity.

8.) What tools/supplies/accessories for your craft(s) are you wishing you had but don’t? Also, what do you have TOO many of? (basically a wish and anti-wish list)

A ball winder and a swift! (but I realize that’s above the price range of this swap.) I also really need a memory wire cutter, but I think those are pricey and hard to find too. (Found one for cheap last night)

So… Instead I will say that I’m open to whatever fun crafty supplies you can think of and will just list off what I don’t need instead.

I do NOT need any knitting needles or crotchet hooks, I’ve got complete sets, in fancy wrap holders, along with scissors, chibi, sewing needles, stitchmarkers, gauge checkers, and tape measurers. I’ve also got more bags than anyone really needs. (Which, of course, won’t stop me from buying more…)

I also do NOT need embroidery floss, needles, hoops, or patterns designed by Sublime Stitching (except the cassette tape, I could totally use the cassette tape.) (Thanks cg!)

I’ll update this section once I get my new weaving book. I might be in the market for something from that. Yeah, weaving seems super fun. If there are cheap smaller looms or other weaving supplies, that would rock.

Oh, and I would love to make something with some of those more atypical fibers – banana, corn, bamboo, etc…

9.) What type of handmade item would tickle your fancy? What don’t you like? (Keep in mind this swap is open to all types of crafters.)

I live in Austin, so I don’t need anything to keep me warm, and I don’t wear scarves. I LOVE stationary and hand printed/pressed items if anyone is crafty in that style. Otherwise I suppose I like fun little cute and/or useful things.

10.) Is there anything else you would like your pal to know about you?

Some of my big loves lately are deep sea life, book history, and new library technologies. Yeah, I’m a big geek/nerd.

 

2 responses to “New swap!

  1. Vegan Knitting

    October 8, 2006 at 11:09 pm

    Oh My – I would pay a very large sum of money for that dress/bolero combo. Wow.
    I am also crazy about Toffutti TooToos but have only found them at the Raleigh’s supermarket in South Lake Tahoe!

     
  2. ellie

    October 9, 2006 at 12:35 am

    I know, isn’t it gorgeous. I have confidence that I can do the dress, we’ll see about the jacket… I know I won’t get to it too soon, but I hope to make it in 4-6 months or so…

     

Leave a Reply

 
