RSS

Big Crafty Accomplishment

17 Oct

So our pillow situation has been bothering Shawn. Apparently our two pillows either smoosh up to each other and he’s stuck on the raised overlap or they slide apart and he’s down in the crevice. I would never know because I sleep through everything and I clutch everything to me fiercely while I’m sound asleep. Shawn mentioned the issue while we were out shopping at Target one day and said we should just have one long pillow, then it wouldn’t be a problem. Body pillows were on sale! Score! But then he wanted nothing to do with the faux suede surface of the body pillow. But do you know what else was on (super) sale? A set of twin sheets that were the same pattern as the ones we had. No problem! I’ll whip up a pillow case. And that’s just what I did. (Modeled on my bed, hence the non-matching sheets.) You can’t really see it well in this picture, but I’m particularly proud of the polished folded edges. (I kind of ruined the regular sheet ripping instead of cutting – I blame it on too much Project Runway – so I had to make this out of the fitted sheet and make the pretty edge part myself instead of using the already made pretty edge of the top sheet.) My roommate threaded her machine for me before she went out, but the bobbin ran out part way through. She had shown me where the manual was though, so now I’m up to speed. Which rocks, because I know how to sew, it was only winding bobbins and threading the machine I had forgotten. I also packed up a few little presents for some blog friends and started some more tile magnets. Plus, at lunch, I sat outside and knitted on Wyvern while eating my home cooked lunch. All in all a good day.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2006 in general craftiness

 

5 responses to “Big Crafty Accomplishment

  1. kasha

    October 18, 2006 at 1:24 am

    Maybe I’m crazy, but that is a very coked-up blog entry. Do we need to talk?

     
  2. Kristin

    October 18, 2006 at 9:14 am

    I love that idea! I bought some towels in that pattern when they were on sale at Target. I think it’s awesome. Go target!

     
  3. ellie

    October 18, 2006 at 9:22 am

    Kasha – You’re crazy! Maybe if I had used paragraph breaks that would have helped? But we should talk anyway. And you should come visit again!
    Kristin – Thanks! Go Target!

     
  4. Imbrium

    October 18, 2006 at 10:43 am

    Nifty! I love the pattern of the fabric.
    I can’t imagine trying to share a pillow with Bradon, though. I smoosh my pillow into oblivion while I sleep, and I’m constantly turning it over, looking for the cool spot. Between my flailing and Bradon’s snoring, sometimes I’m amazed that we can even share a bed. 😉

     
  5. ellie

    October 18, 2006 at 5:03 pm

    Imbrium – That’s pretty funny! I’m a total bed hog and flailer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
