RSS

Abandoning Ship

24 Oct

I finished my first sock and I’m so disappointed. It’s not the pattern’s fault. It’s mine. I turned the heel too early and just kept knitting anyway. I picked up stitches when it didn’t tell me to. Now it’s too tight in the heel and too loose at the cuff. I’m also not sold on the length. I think it should be taller. In short, it’s a disaster. And I don’t have the heart to fix it right now. I have a scarf to finish for Shawn before our vacation in November and I have Drunken Argyle to finish for my dad before Christmas. We picked out the yarn LAST Christmas and I’m not sure I’m going to have it done in time. So I’m setting priorities and setting Wyvern aside.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2006 in knitting

 

2 responses to “Abandoning Ship

  1. Lolly

    October 24, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    Sometimes it is just not meant to be… maybe some time away? I hope you return to sock knitting though. But, in the meantime, work away on the sweaters! I am ready to return to my sweater WIPs after this month is over 😉

     
  2. ellie

    October 25, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    I plan to return. I know how to fix this one, plus I’ve got the yarn for a pair for Shawn (or some Baudelaires for me…)

     

Leave a Reply

 
