RSS

Too funny.

24 Oct

So you may or may not have run into Ms. Dewey, the sassy annoying and sexist new search engine. (Read a review of her terrible functionality too.) She’s kind of funny and worth taking a look at. But the thing that I absolutely love? Listen closely and you can hear the director’s cues. “Back to one.” “Action.” “Cut.” “Pout.” “Throw the pen.” “Displaying yourself.” Priceless. And it’s from Microsoft. How could they let that go into production and how come no reviews I’ve read mention it?

Some fun searches with special responses: ninja, clothes, patriot act, police, chuck norris, lord of the rings … I’m sure there are many more, but I’m tired of playing around with her.

Ask her about knitting or weaving and she tells you how boring you are, or how that kind of search will get you beat up and your lunch money stolen. (Try “learn to knit”)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2006 in library stuff

 

7 responses to “Too funny.

  1. Erin

    October 24, 2006 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks again for the package! You’re too awesome!
    Sorry your sock didn’t work out. I’ve definitely had that happen to me as well. Not fun.

     
  2. Desirée

    October 24, 2006 at 6:41 pm

    wow, that is a crappy search engine. I put in Colin Farrell, and Ms. Dewey referred to him as “her”. riiight.

     
  3. Lolly

    October 24, 2006 at 11:09 pm

    Ack! I heard about this!!

     
  4. Carla

    October 26, 2006 at 10:21 am

    Wow, Ms. Dewey is offensive on so many levels! I’m in “library school” too, by the way.

     
  5. fillyjonk

    October 27, 2006 at 1:23 pm

    I couldn’t get past the fact that she was singing along with her iPod when I clicked on the site.
    I do not want a loud search engine. Bleah. I was gonna try searching on some kind of ecological term to see if she had anything snarky to say about people who, you know, use their brains for a living, but I clicked off right away.
    Why is it, that so often when companies decide they need to appeal to 18-34 year old males, they make something that infuriates the rest of us?

     
  6. ellie

    October 29, 2006 at 7:41 pm

    I have no answers…

     
  7. melissa

    November 3, 2006 at 10:53 pm

    wow, everyday i start to wonder about this country more and more……..

     

Leave a Reply

 
