RSS

Portland.

14 Nov

Shawn and I took a long weekend vacation to Portland this past weekend and it was fabulous. Sure, it was cold and rainy and we were bored by the last day, but it was also incredibly relaxing and beautiful and I’ll take any mishaps as lessons learned (one lesson learned – fly back Sunday afternoon, not midnight).

We got in to Portland Thursday night with no problems, checked in to our hotel (thanks to Shawn’s dad’s frequent hotel points we got to stay at a swanky Marriott) and went looking for some late night food. Apparently Portland isn’t much of a late night kind of place though. The consierge knew of two places, both bars and we gave one a go, don’t remember the name. Shawn got some chicken strips and I got chips and salsa. We were quickly hit with the fact that Portland
still allows smoking in bars. I lived in LA before coming to Austin, so I’ve had over five years now of not having to deal with smoky places. Yuck! I hate how smoke just seeps in everywhere and takes over my clothes and hair. We whined about it to each other and didn’t go into any bars after that, which limited any late night options.

Friday we had lunch at Vita Café where I had vegan biscuits and gravy. Yum! Shawn had vegan fish n chips. They really got the flavor right on the breading. We also got the Irish Oatmeal cake. (Actually, we got the cake first.) I spent the rest of the trip saying “That Irish Oatmeal cake sure was tasty.”

Then we went to the Portland Art Museum (Shawn’s selection). We decided not to spring the extra money for the Egypt exhibit, but still had plenty to see. After that we walked over to Powell’s and spent hours looking at just the crafting and cooking books. There was a new cookbook out by the author of my favorite cookbook ever (The Mediterranean Vegan Kitchen) so of course I had to buy that. I also picked up a little weaving guide that includes such tips as how to figure out how much yarn you’ll need for a project. Then off to dinner at Pirate’s Tavern (a vegan pirate restaurant). Vegan Salisbury steak. Yum! There was also much coffee in between all of this. And admiring of the changing colors of the trees (something we don’t get in Austin).

Saturday we mostly walked around and looked at shops. We saw Close Knit (which I was not in love with – too crowded and nothing all that captivating), Bolt (which is so awesome and amazing and I wanted everything!), Herbivore (which had Jenifer Shmoo, but I had already ordered her book online and felt like a shmoo being there and not buying her book), Mabel’s Café and Knittery (where I got the yarn here for a tank top. I’m thinking brown with blue trim and a crocheted cap sleeve kind of thing), Food Fight (an all vegan grocery store, which even though I was told was super small was even smaller than I thought it would be, but still had tons of awesome stuff. Shawn and I totally stocked up.), and Equinox.

Then we crashed at the hotel, me with a stomach ache, I think from the wontons – cheese and fried, will I never learn my lesson? But Shawn ordered Chinese and I ate some of his rice and recovered. We sighed again about the lack of late night coffee shops. Oh and on the way to Herbivore we saw this cat in a tree. I know it’s always the joke, but neither Shawn nor I had ever seen one in real life. We thought it was funny.

Sunday we went to the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (my choice). It was pretty much a total let down, but Shawn was a good sport. It was geared towards really little kids moreso than my hometown science museum and the place was teeming with the little runts. Which is fine and all, but it meant that I didn’t get to push all the buttons and do all the fun activities. The saving graces were the planetarium show and the Star Wars exhibit with tons of cool info about the movies. Then we headed back to Powell’s to kill time til it was time to leave for our flight. Unfortunately we had more time than even Powell’s could kill. And it was raining and cold and we had already checked out of our hotel. But at least we had the best curry dinner ever at Thai Peacock. Then we flew home on a red eye and I slept the whole way cause I can sleep anywhere, anytime. Shawn was a fabulous pillow, but I don’t think he got any sleep. And he wins the best boyfriend ever award because I totally drooled on his new pants sleeping on the plane and when I woke up all he said was, “Looks like you slept well.”

View the album for the rest of my pics.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2006 in other bits of life

 

5 responses to “Portland.

  1. Kristin

    November 15, 2006 at 9:46 am

    Sounds like a fun weekend. I’ve always wanted to go to Portland.

     
  2. ellie

    November 15, 2006 at 4:25 pm

    You should. It’s fun!

     
  3. Desirée

    November 15, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    I plan to head up there sometime soon… as soon as I have vacation time saved up. Hero and I drove up last year to Eugene (his family lives there) and I promised Michelle (of Michelleknits) that I’d call her up and go to the Pirate Tavern with her next time I’m up that way. How was the.. uh.. pirate-ness of it? Was there a lot of Yarr-ing? (I say Yarn! because I’m a knitting pirate.) I heard it’s a bit pricy; thoughts?
    The vegans are conglomerating in Portland, you know. Eventually we’ll all live there. 😉

     
  4. ellie

    November 15, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    It was not overly piratey actually. The waiter had on a floofy shirt and a vest, but no hat or eyepatch or pegleg or anything. And no yarr-ing. There was a treasure chest and the food was great. A little pricey, but not too too bad. Vita Cafe was also amazing but cheaper if you can only hit one and are wanting to save $.

     
  5. morgan

    November 15, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    You know I love Portland. Of course, I also love drinking, and can deal with smoke. I think you missed out by not seeing some live music, but if you were avoiding bars, that makes sense.
    I love how COMPLETELY UNCONCERNED that cat looks re: it’s tree-sitting position.

     

Leave a Reply

 
