RSS

Cheer up!

28 Nov

I’m taking a page from mishka and no longer surrendering to my grumpy attitude. I had a wonderful trip home for Thanksgiving. I headed out Tuesday night. My brother and his fiancee picked me up from the airport and we had a grand time chatting it up on the ride back to their apartment. We stayed up playing with their kittens, who are totally way bigger now. Then I crashed out on their couch and didn’t wake up til lunchtime on Wednesday. We met the folks for lunch at a little cafe with a killer salad and yummy hummus wrap and some cool recycled art on the wall. (I’ll stick in the pictures later.) Then we parted ways and I went with my mom and dad to go suitcase shopping. I’ve been having issues with my very large but supposedly cabin safe carry on not really fitting, so I needed a smaller one. Dad and I took over an isle and lined up every carry on suitcase to be had at Marshalls and picked the perfect one. I had no trouble with it on my return trip. And it’s neon green so I’ll definitely know which one is mine if I ever have to check it. We had chinese buffet for dinner then went home and helped mom make ground cherry pie. My favorite! Plus with no brother around I got to eat all the leftover pie dough. Yum! Then dad and I sat around and watched TV while I worked on Drunken Argyle.

Thursday was the big dinner with the family. No one woke me up so I slept until everyone was there and it was almost time to eat. (Left on my own I could easily sleep 12 hours a day for weeks.) We had a fabulous leisurely meal with all the fixings and mom surprised us with some seitan dredged in flour and poultry seasoning as our turkey substitute (we had said we didn’t need one this year). After we had stuffed ourselves the usual dispersal occurred. My brother ran downstairs to play drums, dad left for the TV, mom started cleaning and insisted everyone else stayed seated. I made tea, grabbed my knitting and chatted with fiancee and friend. Good times indeed. Eventually we all migrated to the living room for TV time. We often do Star Trek or Doctor Who. This year we watched MI3. I have to say, Tom Cruise might be crazy, but he makes splosions GOOD! The kids headed home and I voted for Conan the Barbarian, but mom wasn’t up for any more violence. While my dad called his mom, I drug mine out to blockbuster and picked up Best in Show. She loved it. I finished the purple mittens you saw a few posts ago.

Speaking of which, my brother’s fiancée and I were talking. What’s with purple? We both are all into it now and never were before and apparently it’s the new cool thing or something. But neither of us really pay attention to that kind of stuff. I guess that doesn’t matter, they got us anyway. Purple. Love it.

Friday I got a hair cut and ran errands with mom, including a stop to the LYS. They were grumpy as usual, but I still walked away with this. Kind of. They’re being packed away til Christmas. But I did photocopy the felted bowl pattern before relinquishing the book and stash. I’m thinking vest with that yarn, which is a linen blend and really beautiful. Bagels for lunch. Yum! Crappy Mexican for dinner. Yuck! We played around at the Verizon wireless store (mom needed a software upgrade), but I am not in love with any of the phones out there right now. Sad since I’m up for my new every 2 in December.

Saturday I had veggie hoagies for lunch. My special request for this trip. I make one every trip home. I think it was veggie chicken and dumplings last time. They were perfect, real hoagie rolls, 2 kinds of veggie lunch meat, shredded lettuce, tomato, mustard, miracle whip (no vegan mayo on hand now that my brother has moved out), and this was the key – oregano. Delish! Then some friends stopped by. I declared this trip to be complete relaxation, no dashing about, so friends had to come to me. I served tea and bakery sweets and one friend brought some vegan donuts from a store that I will have to visit on my next trip home. Mom and I already have an excursion planned up that way to try out a new tea shop. Out for pizza then back for a Doctor Who documentary. And of course plenty more Drunken Argyle knitting. Dad really got to appreciate how much work it is.

Sunday up way too early to go out to breakfast. Irish oatmeal really stuck to my ribs! Then some more Doctor Who til it was time to leave for the airport. Bought the obligatory 3 Philly soft pretzels. I think I’ll just get 1 next time. Harry Potter on CD and Drunken Argyle for the trip back to Austin.

Shawn picked me up and when we got back to his place we hung my puzzle up in the loom room. It’s looking great! And he’s got a new ginourmous gorgeous wood table perfect for entertaining. I see glorious game nights in our future.

And of course the best news of all – not to jinx it, but – one of my references told me that the new job told her they’re hoping to hire me this week. Fingers crossed.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2006 in other bits of life

 

7 responses to “Cheer up!

  1. Erin

    November 28, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    Sounds like the best kind of Thanksgiving. In fact, it sounds a lot like my family’s Thanksgiving!
    Good luck with the job, I really hope they offer it to you!

     
  2. meg

    November 28, 2006 at 9:30 pm

    fingers still crossed for you!
    and about the purple, i had the same epiphany this week. i’ve never been a fan but i’m knitting some socks with it and love them. i notice so many yarns have purple in them. it “symbolizes royalty” and i suppose that can’t be all bad. either way, i’m starting to accept it and see it in a different light.
    your thanksgiving sounds fab. relaxing and lots of knitting. oh and the dude is a huge dr who fan, watches them often. he would have been more than content hanging with your family for the holidays. 🙂

     
  3. Desirée

    November 28, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    You got your busy-bee! Love Best in Show. =)
    Ditto for me on the sleeping 12+ hours and the purple. Any pix coming up of Drunken Argyle?

     
  4. mishka

    November 29, 2006 at 8:32 am

    I’m so happy that my post influenced you to remember the good that’s happened in your life recently – it can really help lift your mood, can’t it? My goal is to list out these good things more regularily. Daily, if possible 🙂
    Your Thanksgiving at home sounds like so much fun – tons of Dr Who? That’s awesome!
    I’m crossing my fingies for you for the job!

     
  5. ellie

    November 29, 2006 at 11:28 am

    Thanks everybody! (Drunken Argyle pics coming soon.)

     
  6. Carla

    November 29, 2006 at 2:09 pm

    You’ve been busy!
    Doctor Who was great last week “hungry! huuuuungry!” But you saw a documentary?

     
  7. ellie

    November 30, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Yeah, it’s an old one, called 30 years in the Tardis or something like that. It was fun.

     

Leave a Reply

 
