RSS

Christmas Meme

29 Nov

Stolen from The Bitter Knitter

1. Egg Nog or Hot Chocolate?

Silk Nog, But really only about a glass of it once a year…

2. Does Santa wrap presents or just set them under the tree?

He sets them under our stockings by the stove/chimney

3. Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Colored lights on the tree, none on the house, also lots of hand crafted ornaments my brother and I made all through school.

4. Do you hang mistletoe?

nope

5. When do you put up your decorations?

I always tried to avoid helping. My job was to untangle and check the lights, somehow that was fun, but unwrapping and rewrapping all those ornaments was way too much work. I think we typically did it maybe 2 weeks before Christmas?

6. What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)? 

Growing up I liked Christmas better than thanksgiving because we’d have a ham and I liked that better than turkey, all the other sides were usually the same. So I guess I’d have to go with green beans with toasted slivered almonds, but really it’s all about the cherry winks.

7. Favorite Holiday memory as a child?

It’s not actually a memory, but there’s this great picture of me as a toddler with our dog and a gingerbread house. I love that picture. We also had a hand puppet Christmas elf I always loved playing with.

8. When and how did you learn the truth about Santa?

I don’t know for sure, there was never a big revelation, and my parents still keep up the charade, kind of. I know it was older than it should have been because we would all leave the house together to go to my grandmother’s in Ohio for the holidays. On Christmas morning there would be a Polaroid of the presents back home. Then we’d all get back home at the same time, so I never knew how they set up the presents, even when I knew there couldn’t really be a Santa clause. The big debunking was the year we got back and it wasn’t all prepared and our parents told us to go walk the dog… around the side of the house with no windows. We played along for a bit, but then the cold and wet got to us and we tried to come in. They kept saying not yet, walk the dog some more. I think I may have been in high school, but at least jr. high. We kept knocking and saying we know there’s no Santa, it’s freezing, let us in! There was also the year I took AP Chemistry and got a periodic table of the elements t-shirt under my stocking. As I oo-ed and ah-ed mom told me dad was proud of that one, he picked it out. I smiled, “you mean Santa?” We play the game to this day. I have made mom promise to tell me how she did the Polaroid trick once I have a kid, but she will not admit to anything til then.

9. Do you open a gift on Christmas Eve?

I swear that this was a long standing tradition in my family and it was always something nice to wear to the Christmas Eve service or a present from one of our aunts if my parents knew they hadn’t gotten us any fancy clothes, but then one year we didn’t and I asked why we weren’t and I was told that we never had. They’ve teased me calling me a present grubber every year since then, but I swear I did not make this up!

10. What kind of decorations are on your Christmas Tree?

Lots of homemade ones, some McDonald ones that had been gifts from cousins, and my favorites are the birds and the bubblers, we’ve got 2 or 3 of each.

11. Snow! Love it or Dread?

Love it

12. Can you ice skate?

Nope! Only went once and was scared the whole time.

13. Do you remember your favorite gift?

One year my brother got me 3 deep sea books. I was overwhelmed with how thoughtful this was. He said, well you haven’t shut up about it in months. I had just never thought to look for books on the subject, and I didn’t realize I talked about it that much. They were great books. Also one year when I was really little we got these huge blue bears that were bigger than we were. I would use them to prop me up in bed when I read for years and years and years.

14. What’s the most important thing about the Holidays for you?

Being with family.

15. What is your favorite Holiday Dessert?

Cherry winks. Dad and I always make them together. He cuts up all the dates and cherries and nuts and I mix everything up. It’s good times. Excellent father daughter bonding.

16. What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Just the whole day of Christmas, get up, we go through the Santa gifts first, then mom makes cinnamon roles, I make coffee, my brother and I divide all the gifts under the tree into piles of who they’re for, then we take turns going around and ooing and ahing over everything and taking pictures. We’re very much into fair in my household, usually mom and dad have more gifts so they have to open 2 a turn and have a lot of turns opening presents from each other. There’s also a lot of, well do you want your big one first or your little one? And I always get to open the last gift. 😉

When I was younger my brother and I would always get a few nintendo games, so we’d play those and play with our other toys til it was time for the big Christmas dinner. Now we eat a little earlier and all help out with the meal and watch movies and play cards.

17. What tops your tree?

I’m pretty sure it’s an angel, I care more about making sure my brother’s boyscout photo on popsicle sticks and my kindergarten photo in a decorated drink scooper have made it up.

18. What is your favorite holiday book?

Probably The Polar Express.
That’s the only one that was part of our holiday tradition.

19. What is your favorite Christmas Song?

I’m fond of winter wonderland. The lane up to my bus stop was always so stunning after a snowfall.

20. What is your favorite holiday movie?

The Nutcracker

21. Candy Canes!

Yuck or Yummy? Pretty good, but easy to over do.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2006 in quiz central

 

2 responses to “Christmas Meme

  1. emily

    November 30, 2006 at 8:56 am

    My parents still keep up the Santa thing too. 2 years ago I got a stocking and presents from Santa…delivered by the post office that was sent in a box from my parent’s house (a week or so before christmas)! My mom swore that Santa was just planning ahead and wanted to make sure things weren’t late.

     
  2. ellie

    November 30, 2006 at 12:59 pm

    That’s hilarious!

     

Leave a Reply

 
