RSS

Looky looky!

05 Dec

I made some new earrings. These were fun and easy and I got to use my new jump ring making tool. I made them while I was waiting for a bowl to felt. As usual I’ll try to remember to post some pictures of it soon. I ran it through the wash three times with soap and shoes, but it hasn’t reached the stiffness or the lack of stitch definition that I would have hoped for. I may try to double the yarn and use bigger needles and see if that helps. Or maybe just starch it. Who knows.

I also started playing with my skirt pattern last night. I cut out all the pattern pieces and filed away the ones I won’t be using. I’m actually not doing one of the patterns exactly, I’m combining features from a few of them. I know I can do it, but I also know it means I need to think a lot harder before I do any cutting. I consulted with my roommate too and got some good advice. Unfortunately, I also found out that I didn’t have enough of the patterned fabric. Technically speaking, I knew that already, but I was going to see if there was any way to make it work since I knew I didn’t need nearly as much as the pattern said. The answer was no. Luckily I found more online (I had bought all they had at the store) and ordered it right up. Does anyone know if fabric has dye lots like yarn? I only ordered as much as I’d need to add to what I have. I figured even if they’re a little different one will be the front and one the back. Hopefully that’s fine…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 5, 2006 in general craftiness

 

4 responses to “Looky looky!

  1. Michelle

    December 5, 2006 at 8:04 pm

    those are way nice!

     
  2. ellie

    December 6, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Thanks! And they’re up on my etsy shop… 😉

     
  3. meg

    December 6, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    love the earrings.

     
  4. Carla

    December 8, 2006 at 9:24 am

    Nice earrings! They’re mod!
    Sewing is such an effort eh! Getting all the supplies ready and cutting the fabric. gah. But it’ll be nice when your skirt is done! I don’t know about dye lots for fabric.

     

Leave a Reply

 
