RSS

Long weekend.

12 Dec

And not in a good way people. I don’t know if it’s that time of the year (or month*) or what-have-you, but my emotional compass cannot find north these days. I’ve been getting overly worked up over all the little things. Bugs all over my apartment, the landlord has sprayed twice (after annoyingly insinuating that the bugs were our fault, first that they were fleas from our cats, then that we brought them in with our groceries), they finally made it to my food cupboard Monday night and I took all my stuff off the shelves and started spraying the (I think) ants with some random household cleaner with bleach in it. Die ants die! Rather than, you know, let me find the good ecological way to get rid of them. I was just not up for it.

I’ve sent out an email to a friend that I lost touch with in my last break up and she hasn’t written back yet. That hasn’t helped my mood any. A different friend back home just bought a house. I want a house. With space for all my stuff and a big kitchen and large rooms and that’s mine to do what I want with.

I feel like I’ve stalled out. I was all excited about weaving, but I’ve been waiting on my yarn to arrive for ages now. And I was all excited about my new craft room at Shawn’s, but now it’s become a greenhouse so our plants could come in from the cold, and I’m waiting til after the holidays and a few more paychecks to buy the shelving so I can make room for everything. I was reading the latest Vegetarian Times and getting excited about recipes, but was waiting til after the holidays to do any big cooking projects. I leave for PA in a week, why buy or make stuff that will just go bad? I want to DO things, but I feel like it’s all waiting on something else. Shawn’s been stressed too with new (potentially expensive) leaks in the house and band stuff, so we’ve been a pretty pair. Anyway, here’s to hoping it passes fast. I’ve filled my week up with social outings in an attempt to shake myself out of it. Thanks for reading, I feel better already.

That fabric that I didn’t have enough of so I bought more online. Um. I don’t think I paid enough attention to the fact that the name I had was the name of the line, not the print. Oops! But I’m taking this as a blessing in disguise. I’ve just bought a new sewing machine that should come in this week and I’m planning to take lessons with a friend. So I’m putting the skirt aside for now til I actually know what I’m doing. I think I’ll have enough of the pink fabric to make a skirt of some variety, just not a circle skirt. Plus, as you see to the right, I now have plenty of ideas of things to do with fabrics, so it’s not like it will go to waste.

I’ve been working on a secret project for my brother, who affirmed, as I rightly suspected, that if I post here with a link that says click only if you are not my brother, that yes, he would totally click there. So no photos of my current project since I want to keep it a surprise, a rarity in my family for Christmas presents.

Last night I sat down and watched An Inconvenient Truth while I was working on it. Have you seen it yet? You probably have since I didn’t get around to it til now, but if not, you should.

*Seriously, my antidepressants are awesome overall and have definitely put me back on my feet, but they sure do make those monthly mood swings more pronounced.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2006 in other bits of life, weaving

 

5 responses to “Long weekend.

  1. mishka

    December 12, 2006 at 10:57 am

    I’m sorry you’re feeling so crappy, Ellie. Bugs in your apartment is definitely something to get bothered by – I had an ant infestation in my last apartment (how do you get ants on the 29th floor?!) and I just wanted them to all die in a very un-vegan way. It’s frustrating. And it sucks when people don’t write back when you reach out – but you can feel better knowing that you did reach. Besides, is it possible the email did not get to this person? Take care of yourself. This is a stressful time of year, with the holidays and lack of sunshine. *hugs*

     
  2. ellie

    December 12, 2006 at 11:04 am

    Thanks! Yeah it’s weird too cause the ants look like ants, but don’t move like ants. And it’s totally possible she didn’t get the email, which left me wondering whether I wanted to write the ex for her contact info which got me thinking about him which didn’t help my mood. šŸ˜‰ I’m trying to remind myself not to get so worked up. Thanks again for the support.

     
  3. Imbrium

    December 12, 2006 at 11:27 am

    I’m sorry you’re having a hard time of it…it seems to be going around. I hope you’re feeling better soon. *hug*

     
  4. ellie

    December 12, 2006 at 11:33 am

    Thanks! Maybe I’ll take some of that advice I left for you šŸ˜‰

     
  5. meg

    December 12, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    aww, hope it gets better. we all seem to get a little stressed out during this time of year but only do what you can. hope those icky ants go away. buy just enough to make a meal for you and shawn. it’ll make you both feel good!
    thanks for the comment on my kitty. we took her in and they actually found inoperable cancer on her tongue and we had to let her go. what a terrible two days its been but i keep making myself stay busy and reminding myself i have all sorts of fun things and people to see. keeps me distracted (at least for a few minutes).

     

Leave a Reply

 
