RSS

Oh, and I’ve been knitting too…

04 Jan

I’ve been working on a scarf for the red scarf project. It’s kind of more red-ish orange. I hope that’s still OK. I was distraught on and off over the holidays because I had lost the knitting bag that had this project (along with my Denise kit!) in it but Shawn saved the day and found it (just where he said it was, but where I had refused to check, certain I had emptied the car completely when I had cleaned it.)

The yarn is banana silk I picked up from Vegan Knitting…and then some. It’s very interesting stuff. I am not loving winding it into balls. It’s definitely unruly stuff, tangles like the dickens. One look told me center pull was NOT a good idea, and each skein seems to contain at least 3 breaks in it, but damn is it lovely when knit up. Such a great weight too.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2007 in knitting

 

5 responses to “Oh, and I’ve been knitting too…

  1. Michelle

    January 4, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Oh, I have some of that exact stuff! Still haven’t knit with it yet! Yeah, winding that (just into a regular old ball) was NOT fun!

     
  2. Holly Burnham

    January 4, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Who cares if he was right as long as you have your knitting back…good for you.
    I haven’t tried banana silk yet, but a friend of mine sells it so I’m destined to give it a go.

     
  3. ellie

    January 4, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Yeah, I don’t mind him being right. Though it wouldn’t hurt if he could try to remind me a few less times. 😉 I hope you both enjoy the banana silk. Please do let me know how you like it and what you make.

     
  4. Kasha

    January 4, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    “…like the dickens.” Are you sure you’re only lightly nerdy??

     
  5. ellie

    January 5, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    Heh! You caught me…

     

Leave a Reply

 
