RSS

Don’t look back.

05 Jan

I was thinking about doing a year in (knitting) review like I’ve seen on other blogs, but honestly, I just don’t want to go back and look at the beginning of 2006. I still feel random bursts of pain or anger and I don’t really see any reason to go digging around for more. Instead, let’s dwell on the good and the new!

I rang in the new year in what might have just been the best possible way ever. No party or hub-bub. Just a quiet relaxing day at home, but with something to show for it. I spent much of the day cleaning the house and listening to the 6th Harry Potter book while Shawn worked on songs. (I think we both felt very productive, I know I did. It was very satisfying.) Then we picked up* a bottle of Shawn’s favorite wine and the ingredients to make a tamarind mint chutney from the new cookbook he got me for Christmas. We also rented Prairie Home Companion (though we didn’t end up watching it until the next night). We cooked dinner together and enjoyed a nice sit down meal before getting back to music and cleaning and crafting. By the end of the night Shawn brought his laptop into the bedroom to keep working where I was knitting and watching TV. I hadn’t been paying attention to the time, but Shawn turned and wished me a happy new year (presumably at midnight) and gave me a big kiss. Later we made biscotti. The perfect and utterly relaxing and accomplished feeling way to start the new year.

I have a lot of excitement planned for this year. I’ve signed up for sewing classes with a friend. (We’re going shopping for our supplies this weekend. Hopefully my new machine will arrive in time. Stupid back orders!) I plan on weaving a second shawl for myself. (That one stayed with Mom.) I’ve signed up for this fabulous vegan lunch delivery  service – Chow Baby. So every Wednesday and Friday I will have delicious meals ready to eat. I also plan to step up my cooking with all the great new cookbooks I have. I’ve signed up for Project Spectrum again, and this year I think I will focus on foods and trying to take more pictures in my daily life. Another inspiration via Lolly – she linked to a finished Jamesy at Spectacled. I had been so stoked when this pattern came out only to find that none of the skinny boys in my life were remotely interested in it. Suddenly with this picture it occurs to me – I can make it for myself! So that’s in the plans for the new year as well. And I start my new job on Monday! I don’t have any official resolutions, but I plan to try to take it slow, breathe deeply, and spend time with friends without feeling as constantly overwhelmed as I did last year.

I hope everyone else’s new years are off to a great start too!

* And by picked up, I mean we were at Central Market and the wine foodie recognised Shawn and came over to tell him that they had just gotten in more cases of Black Chook for the holidays, and handed him a bottle. That boy knows everyone!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2007 in other bits of life

 

4 responses to “Don’t look back.

  1. meg

    January 5, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    sounds like a great way to spend NYE.

     
  2. ellie

    January 5, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    I thought so. 🙂

     
  3. Lolly

    January 5, 2007 at 8:21 pm

    Hey E! I am so glad that I can inspire you in some little way. You inspire me! I hope you do make Jamesey – such a great pattern. I probably won’t get around to it for awhile with PS2, but it will be waiting patiently for next fall…
    xo,
    L

     
  4. ellie

    January 7, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    You’re always an inspiration Lolly! and yeah, I probably won’t get to Jamesey for some time either. Got to finish Drunken Argyle before I take on another sweater!

     

Leave a Reply

 
