RSS

Web round up.

05 Jan

Here’s some random fun stuff I found perusing the Internet that I wanted to share.

In the food category we have:

  • Homemade veg*n marshmallow recipe:
    I am sometimes guilty of forgetting what non-veg ingredients are in things. There’s the hands in my ears, eyes shut tight, la-la-la variety a la my favorite candy ever – sour grapefruit slices (can you believe, they even qualify for free super saver shipping!) – but then there’s also the honest forgetful kind – like when I was at my friend’s birthday party and she had Whole Foods marshmallows that were unlike any marshmallow I had ever tasted before. In the back of my head I thought there might be egg whites, which in my current veg laxness I wasn’t concerned about, but I forgot all about gelatin. But now, rejoice! Heather posted a link to Jocelyn’s basic vanilla marshmallow recipe, which I presume I can make using the packs of vegan gelatin my mom handed off to me over Christmas. I am so excited.
  • Pretzels:
    Creative Kismet posted some books she got for her son. They all look super fun, but the title Honest Pretzels reminded me that I want to make some homemade soft pretzels. I’m not sure if I already have a recipe lying around or not, so I’ll have to look, but if anyone out there has a favorite, I’d love to know.
  • Farm fresh produce:
    Reading happythings I learned about Boggy Creek Farm. It sounds fantastic. Any other Austinites been? I’m hoping to convince Shawn to go with me sometime soon.

On to fun quizzes.

  • BBC’s Brain Sex ID quiz (via Pharyngula) was full of the kinds of fun puzzles I love to do. I scored 25% towards the female, helped by my off the charts score on the "spot the difference" part, which I was particularly proud of since I don’t consider this my strong suit. But man did I tank on matching those lines, which is odd since I did perfect on rotating the shapes and they’re supposed to judge the same thing… I thought the clasp your hands part was particularly interesting and offers potential insight into why it’s more comfortable to hold hands with different people a certain way, but I don’t want to spoil the quiz results for anyone interested in taking it.
  • I found two different Star Trek quizzes. On the first one I scored Ensign (after lots of guessing, I really scored Cadet the first time I took it). On the second I made Lieutenant. I find it kind of amusing that I was offended at my original cadet rank. In all fairness, I’m not really a Trekkie (the documentary was great though!). I’m the daughter of Trekkies, or rather the daughter of sci fi fans. I grew up watching the Next Generation and Deep Space Nine with my parents (along with Sea Quest, Quantum Leap, and Earth 2), but by the time Voyager was on I was no longer at home watching TV, so I only caught it sporadically, and I’ve never seen Enterprise. My brother has been buying the box sets of the original series for my parents, so we blazed through those as well. I can name characters and races and typical plots and know that the ensign who’s name we don’t know is totally going to die on that away mission and that in real life they never would have kept those holodecks around what with the number of times someone has taken over the ship or caused other major catastrophes through them, but damned if I know the class of the space ship or how many shuttle bays it has. Likewise I saw all of the movies, many in the theater, because Mom and Dad took me. So thanks for joining me on this random geek out. The opportunities generally come and go depending on how much enthusiasm is around me. I don’t tend to watch any of this stuff when left to my own devices, but that all day Farscape/Stargate Atlantis fest when I was home relaxing with Dad sure was fun!
    Click here to take NerdTests.com's Star Trek Quiz. NerdTests.com User Test: The Trekkie Test.
 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2007 in general craftiness, general geekdom, quiz central

 

6 responses to “Web round up.

  1. McAuliflower

    January 5, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    I’m curious how your vegan gelatin will work out on the marshmallows. What brand are they?

     
  2. Imbrium

    January 5, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Ha! I have a perfectly bisexual brain, right smack on the 0 at the middle of the scale.
    I don’t know why I’m proud of that, but I am.

     
  3. susan

    January 5, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Hey, this is Susan from the WSSA Christmas party (I got here via Meg’s link to your weaving project, which is beautiful by the way). I just wanted to say that I’ve been to Boggy Creek Farm many times and I highly recommend it. Sometimes things are a little picked over if you get there on the late side on a Saturday, but they have great produce, nice people, and cute chickens. They also have a good selection of locally made stuff like tofu, cheese, and bread. And in the springtime, if there’s a good crop, you can pick your own strawberries.

     
  4. ellie

    January 5, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    McAuliflower – I’ll definitely post results. I think the brand was Kojel.
    Imbrium – Well done! I was kind of expecting to fall male figuring I have excellent spacial and logic skills, but I think maybe that just makes me left brained, not a guy. 🙂
    Susan – Thanks for the info!

     
  5. Regina

    January 7, 2007 at 3:57 pm

    Hi! Those Mollie Katzen books are truly wonderful. My little boy LOVES them.
    I’m very excited to see how your vegan marshmellows turn out. I’ll be checking back for sure to see.
    Here’s the recipe I always use for soft pretzels: http://www.marthastewart.com/page.jhtml?type=content&id=recipe1058&contentGroup=MSL&site=living
    I just brush the pretzels with melted Earth Balance Buttery Sticks instead of the egg. Sometimes I follow the boiling and baking part of the recipe and just use store bought dough found in the freezer section at the grocery store. That works too. Good Luck and happy eating.

     
  6. ellie

    January 7, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Wow! Thanks so much for the recipe! I’ll definitely post the marshmallows when I get around to them. I need to go pick up corn syrup and rice flour.

     

Leave a Reply

 
