RSS

Say hi!

10 Jan

Pharyngula told me it’s national de-lurking week. So if you’ve been stopping by here regularly, but haven’t said hi, today is the day! And if you’ve been stopping by here regularly, I apologize for the lack of content. This has been the first week at my new job, with new (earlier) hours and a longer commute, so I’m still adjusting. And it’s definitely a don’t post from work environment, so that’s going to cramp my style. I had been trying to avoid being on the computer at home since I’m on so much during the day. But I’ll do my best…

I’ve also been trying to squeeze in some weaving before Shawn gets home. Then we make dinner and head off to the gym. By the time we get back it’s time for me to get to bed. But I do have something to show for it. My mile count is creeping slowly upward in the corner there and here are some weaving pictures.

You will see that this project is not going as well as the last. This time I warped the loom by myself, and let’s just say I need some practice. I forgot an important knotting step and had some tension problems that I’ve mostly ironed out, but I think maybe I was supposed to do something different at the beginning too because I’m pretty sure these back beams are supposed to look prettier. I also didn’t center the project as well as I should have, eyeballing instead of measuring and that hook in the center of the top photo causes a break that shouldn’t be there. Thankfully, it doesn’t seem to show up in the woven fabric though. Oh, and the selvedges, while even, are pulling in an aweful lot. But hey, at least they are even!

I’m doing a twill this time instead of a plain weave and I think I like it, though I need to work on my photography a bit. In film they say “We’ll fix it in post.” In knitting we claim that blocking will solve anything. In weaving I’m hoping the wet finishing smooths out some of these beginner errors. 🙂

Oh, and have you seen this:

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2007 in weaving

 

6 responses to “Say hi!

  1. meg

    January 11, 2007 at 9:29 am

    looks fab and like a lot of work but fun.
    hope the job is going well.

     
  2. Teresa

    January 11, 2007 at 11:07 am

    Hi,
    I do stop by often and I’m sorry for not saying hello earlier. I have a small tabletop loom that I love, but don’t frequently use. Good luck with the loom.
    Teresa

     
  3. katie

    January 11, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    I, too, try to limit my time on the computer at home because I stare at it all day at work but it’s hard going sometimes with two blogs and so many blog friends!
    The weaving looks great and that’s awesome about the running!

     
  4. ellie

    January 11, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Thanks guys!

     
  5. morgan

    January 12, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    You have no idea how much I want to put some of that armor on Fergus.

     
  6. ellie

    January 21, 2007 at 10:27 pm

    You totally need to!

     

Leave a Reply

 
