RSS

My so called “red” scarf.

23 Jan

I finished weaving in the ends of my red scarf project scarf. I also printed up one of these handy labels (pdf file) to go with it.

Yarn: Banana Silk

Needles: Size 11s from my Denise kit

Pattern: My So Called Scarf

Notes: This is really a great pattern. It makes a nice scarf, it’s easy to remember, and it’s fun. The banana silk has a wonderful heft to it. All the breaks were annoying, but I think it turned out fantastic.

So in the library world – I was helping a patron today – a somewhat middle aged to older gentleman – and while I was turned to the computer looking up something for him, he blurted out, “You’re gorgeous.” I smiled and thanked him and finished helping him, which (thankfully) involved making a phone call over to another campus. He was perfectly nice, and while I thought that was a little weird, he wasn’t creepy and didn’t say anything else so it was fine. But the weird kind of stuck with me and I wondered whether we had any procedure written up somewhere about how I was supposed to behave in that kind of situation. (Figuring probably not.) While I was talking to my supervisor about it I had a realization. The issue is that I have no experience politely turning away attention. I’m a fairly well adjusted and good enough looking person today, but in high school and as an undergrad I was unpopular, weird looking, and pretty icy and unapproachable to boot. I can only think of a handful of instances where I had to deflect a conversation away from the direction it was heading. If my best friend pops by to read this, she can attest to having to explain to poor Jason that when I blurted “I can’t date you, you’re Jason!” all I really meant was I only saw him as a friend rather than as some kind of abomination. So yeah, public service. There’s something new every day.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2007 in knitting, library stuff, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “My so called “red” scarf.

  1. Mary

    January 24, 2007 at 12:12 am

    You know, it’s wasn’t until I broached/breached? Fell into my 30s that I was comfy in my own skin, well, more often than not. It’s also the very first time I had my very own stalker (when I worked at the Kings Beach Library in N. Lake Tahoe…). Public service really does bring up more senarios than you could ever prevent. I learned to roll with the punches. It adds a great bit of spice to life, at least :).

     
  2. emily

    January 24, 2007 at 11:51 am

    You did the right thing I think. When that happens to me, I smile, say thank you and continue with whatever was happening like they hadn’t mentioned it…just as you did. It is always men that are older enough than me that I don’t consider it “hitting on me”. It might fluster me if it were a hot guy my age and was unexpected 🙂

     
  3. Norma

    January 29, 2007 at 10:02 am

    Well, you ARE gorgeous….at least from what I can tell, hiding behind that scarf. 🙂 Anyway, the scarf is gorgeous, too. Thank you, I’ll put it in the gallery.

     

Leave a Reply

 
