RSS

Baby steps.

07 Mar

Mashti’s favorite new nap spot:

And a little bit more weaving progress (you can tell by looking at the finished part that’s been wound on to the beam on the left, the part I forgot to put any lease sticks in as I wound. It’s less than one time around though, and the tension is relatively ok. I might wind back, or I might just put my butcher paper in starting the next turn.):

This has been one of my other projects of late:

Mostly those aren’t new plants, but many have been repotted into larger containers. The last picture in particular is my trying to grow an avocado plant and seeing if it’s possible to grow new cacti from fallen limbs.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2007 in other bits of life, puppy!, weaving

 

7 responses to “Baby steps.

  1. Felicia

    March 7, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    Mashti is so cute! Usually its just cats that struggle to find new spots, usually tight ones too, to sleep in.

     
  2. katie

    March 7, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    I read once that cacti “pieces” can be dried on the counter for a few days and then planted right into dirt. I have a couple of cacti that have babies shoot off the side constantly and that’s what I do for them. I used to put them in water but I read that it can cause mold or something (but it worked fine for me when I did it).
    Anyway, great looking plants! And your puppy is so cute!

     
  3. Mary

    March 7, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I have two avocado “treelets” in my living room. The trick to sprouting them, besides patience, is toothpicks. My dad (5 huge avocado trees he tended from the seeds) taught me and it really does work…Take 3 or 4 toothpicks and stick them in the seed so that you can use them to keep the seed balanced over the water–pointy side up–in a regular cup. I use old yogurt cups. You just want the bottom barely touching the water, no more than like 1-2 cms. It keeps the seed from rotting and EVENTUALLY it will sprout and root like a maniac.

     
  4. ellie

    March 8, 2007 at 8:41 am

    Thanks for all the compliments and advice!

     
  5. morgan

    March 8, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    You know, in that picture, it totally looks like the dog is in a bag that is HANGING FROM THE BOOKCASE THING. It took some scrutinizing to realize it was just a trick of perspective. I was very impressed with your Cirque de Soleil puppy! šŸ˜‰

     
  6. ellie

    March 8, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Sorry to disappoint, she’s just under the kitchen table.

     
  7. Amy

    March 8, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    My first avocado attempt failed, but the second one was potted and going strong until one night I didn’t realize it was going to get below freezing. The toothpick thing works.

     

Leave a Reply

 
