RSS

These guys.

22 Mar

These guys:

All outside because they were swarming with gnats. We tried ladybugs to eat the gnats, per the guy at Home Depot’s advice (after the lady at the Great Outdoors’ thyme spray was unsuccessful) but the ladybugs were all dead the next night. Very sad. I felt weird buying ladybugs in the first place, but that was extra upsetting. Not sure what our next step will be. I brought in the African violets because they looked like they were going to snap in the wind. So for now I’m bringing them in to the kitchen window sill one plant at a time and once I’ve deemed them gnat free they relocate into the greenhouse (aka my craft room) to mingle with the other plants in the grow lights. Yes, those are not all of our houseplants. The craft room currently houses another seven succulents that we couldn’t pass up when we went shopping for something to kill the gnats, plus there are the African mask plant, the ficus, and the beautiful mother in law’s tongue all in the living room. We love plants. Now if only we could figure out how to keep them alive better.

Also, I saw the weirdest thing when I came home today. If you click on that picture, you might be able to make out a pot that looks empty at the bottom, well it is the home of an avocado pit (not the same one as before, I got bored and cut that one open) and it had been dug up and left sitting on top of the soil. Also one little chick of my hen and chicks plant had been dug up (but left sitting there, otherwise unharmed), one leaf out of the 3 that I was trying to grow from my jade plant had been pulled up and whisked away, and the 2 little cactus sproutlings had been pulled out of their soil. Nothing else was touched.  I had suspected some small animal, but Shawn suspects the neighbors’ kids. Either way it’s fairly odd.

These guys:

Best friends.

These guys:

Not so much.

These guys:

Need to be all put away before the house guests come next week. Have I ranted and raved about how much I hate moving? Well, I do. But I’m grateful that the worst is over and now it’s all the fun nesting part.

Last week was South by Southwest, which is a big music festival. Shawn had three shows and lots of rehearsals and parties, so it was a very busy week. On top of that I found a subletter for my apartment, so I had to actually finish bringing all my stuff to the house. Now I’m working on sorting through the mess before three of Shawn’s friends come to stay with us for a few days to rehearse for the mini tour they start the end of next week.  Don’t tell Shawn, but I’m looking forward to the respite. I plan to put my craft room back in order, work on Drunken Argyle while watching nature documentaries, snuggle the puppy, and maybe set up my next weaving project. I’m doing cloth for a summer skirt.

And that’s my update. I’ll be unpacking and getting the house in order the rest of the week/weekend, so I don’t expect to have much else to say. I hope you’re all well! Send me an email, tell me what you’re up to.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2007 in other bits of life, puppy!

 

5 responses to “These guys.

  1. Erin

    March 22, 2007 at 8:03 am

    It’s so funny that you cat and puppy get along, but the two dogs don’t! The puppy probably just has too much energy for the other dog!

     
  2. Amy

    March 22, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Last night my husband got weirded out when I told him that ladybugs eat other insects. But that’s nothing compared to how devastated he was when I told him that wombats aren’t bats.

     
  3. meg

    March 22, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    To get rid of plant gnats you need to get yellow sticky pieces of paper – like fly paper, but you can stick ’em in each pot mounted on top of a rod. I think you can see what I am talking about if you google ‘yellow sticky traps’.
    Good luck!

     
  4. Claire

    March 26, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Noooo!!! Not Drunken Argyle 🙂
    I’d almost forgotten about that thing… almost.
    Maybe you guys should also get some venus fly traps? They probably would not serve any useful purpose… but I used to love them when I was younger. I, of course, tried to feed them hamburger. They didn’t like it. Actually, what amused me most was a plant that eats meat instead of meat that eats plants. Revenge!!!!

     
  5. ellie

    March 27, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Erin – She does, it’s true. He puts up with her, but it’s clear it’s just putting up. Oh but when she and the cat tussle…. it’s so cute!
    Amy – Ha! Wombats are nothing like bats! They’re way cuter.
    Meg – Thanks for the tip! I ordered some. I also repotted all of them while I was waiting for the traps to arrive. So far so good.
    Claire – Me too…. me too….

     

Leave a Reply

 
