RSS

I can’t believe I missed it!

14 Jun

zombieSo yesterday was Blog Like It’s the End of the World Day. My friend Morgan pointed this out to me and reminded me that I had A Plan (as I often do). But I’ve been thinking about it, and I think that what actually stood out about my end of the world musings was my lack of forethought. It was one of those random discussions about what would you do if the world was coming to an end. Everyone else had lists of things to eat or places to visit or people to spend time with. I didn’t. I had honestly never entertained the idea. No matter why the world was about to come to an end, I would be one of the few survivors tasked to repopulate the earth. I would get to wander empty shopping malls and supermarkets and supply myself with whatever I wanted. Sure, maybe I’d have to hole up for a little while while the mutants/zombies/infected eventually turned into dust, but that wouldn’t take too long and I wouldn’t be in much danger. Nope, my fantasies were all about having the whole planet all to myself, not how I would spend my last precious weeks/days/hours. The slight generation gap in the room meant that the others grew up with the threat of a full scale nuclear WWIII, while I grew up with Night of the Comet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2007 in general geekdom

 

2 responses to “I can’t believe I missed it!

  1. Morgan

    June 15, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    So, um… HOW were you planning to repopulate the earth?? Spontaneous…. word-for-asexual-reproduction-I don’t-remember-the-word-for-since-I-haven’t-taken-biology-since-7th-grade???

     
  2. ellie

    June 15, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    Some cute boy would have survived too, duh! I’m not the only survivor, just one of the few.

     

Leave a Reply

 
