RSS

Knitty… meh…

04 Jul

I wrote this before I went to the American Library Association conference, planning to post it later so there would be stuff for when I had no time to write…. Ooops.

Is anyone else fairly disillusioned with Knitty lately? (With no offense to the lovely designers who I know worked very hard and have every right to be pleased as punch with themselves.)

Hip in hemp is cute on a kid, but kind of looks like wearing an afghan. Zinzin has great shaping, but I’ve now knit enough tank tops to know they actually aren’t very flattering, no matter what you do to them. Ditto for Coachella, Askew and Sophie. And while I dig the innovative construction of Coachella I don’t think I’d combine the butch of a racerback with the femme of the drapey front. Askew I’ve seen a variation of before and friends and I agreed we weren’t so keen on the big arrow to the crotch idea. Tangerine twist is cute enough, but not enough to make me jump for the needles. (The model is adorable though!)

I mostly just don’t care about socks or hats or things for kids or lacy scarves, so all of those patterns could be great, I have no idea. But they’re not for me.

On a more positive note: Unmentionables? Totally clever. (Though not something I will ever make.) And I loved the lion washcloth.

Maybe I’m exceedingly disaffected and/or picky, but I just want things that I would actually make.

Things like the Mrs. Darcy Cardigan, the Lucy in the Sky Cardigan, Sizzle (and over here – now that’s how you design a tank top! Really, most of Wendy’s stuff is pretty darn fabulous.) I feel like Knitty used to be for me, but it’s shifted…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 4, 2007 in knitting

 

5 responses to “Knitty… meh…

  1. Emily

    July 4, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    I’m not crazy with Knitty lately either. I find tons of stuff I want to make in the archives, though.

     
  2. Steve

    July 4, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    I have to agree with you. I do like to do hats and socks, so I’ve found a few things — a baby blanket here, a toddler sweater there. But for the most part, just interesting, but not all that practical.
    I understand that given the demographics of the knitting world, it makes sense that the majority of patterns would be designed for women, so I’m not even going to complain about the lack of men’s patterns. But even when they did that men’s issue a year or so ago, it didn’t have enough meat on its bones for me.
    This last one did seem particulary bleak…

     
  3. Lolly

    July 5, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Knitty has not caught my eye in some time… kind of depressing. Luckily, there are some great patterns coming from other places!

     
  4. Cass

    July 5, 2007 at 7:33 am

    SHE LIVES!! 🙂 Missed you.
    And I totally agree about Knitty. Meh.
    Now the Mrs. Darcy- THAT is a work of art. I’m intimidated about making it though, I think I’ve just built it up in my mind by this point. :p

     
  5. ellie

    July 5, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Emily – Yes! Love the archives, just wish the new stuff was living up to its past…
    Steve – I should probably be thankful for what there is! I just want knitty to be as exciting as I remember it was when I first found it…
    Lolly – Yes! I’ve been really excited about some of the original ideas people are sharing on their blogs.
    Cass – Thanks! You can totally handle Mrs. Darcy! I’d offer a knit-a-long, but I’ve been rather lacking in that department lately. It will definitely be my next project, but that might not be til the new year….

     

Leave a Reply

 
