RSS

Swap-a-holic

05 Aug

First and most importantly – The Red Scarf Project is starting early this year and has an earlier deadline, so grab your needles or hook and your red yarn and get cracking on a gender neutral scarf for a well deserving youngster! (Next year maybe I’ll be up for weaving one!)

And now, my questionnaire for the Knit One Tea Too swap.

1) Do you like loose tea or bags, or both – something you want to try?

I prefer loose leaf, but definitely use bags when I’m in a rush.

2) What is your favorite kind of tea (Brand, flavor, variety, etc)?

My all time favorite brand is Chocolate Bar NYC. I love all of their flavors except for Cool Aid. My favorite flavors/varieties in general are Irish Breakfast Tea, Chai, and mint.

3) Favorite color in regards to tea or one you would like to try? (black, green, red, and white) (keeping in mind that this is how this swap is set up).

Black is my favorite. I don’t like fruity teas.

4) Would you say you were a tea pot kind of person or just a hot water heater kind?

I’m usually only making tea for myself, so for my morning tea that I take to work I heat the water in a kettle on the stove and use reusable tea bags with my loose leaf tea. If I’m making tea to have at home I have a cute little flower shaped tea strainer thing (kind of like this one). When I have company I use my tea set.

5) What tea accessories would you like but have never purchases for yourself?

A little dish specially for holding your used tea bags or spoons. More cloth tea bags.

6) How do you prefer to be pampered? (examples: mani/pedi, bubble bath, yummy treat, etc).

Yes.

7) If you were a kind of yarn what would you be and why?

Cotton – Soft, versatile, and utilitarian.

8) If you had to knit/crochet baby booties, a fun fur scarf, or a fair isle sweater, which would you choose and why?

A fun fur scarf, mindless knitting that I can do while watching a movie and shows progress fast. Plus, while most fun fur is in fact atrocious, there are exceptions. (But please don’t buy me fun fur.)

9) What other event would make you skip a tea party? (A garden party? A book club meeting? A yoga class? Opening night for a new action thriller? etc?)

Nothing like that, it would have to be something that a good friend or family member needed me for. Or maybe a game night. I do like card games and board games, and I do have a hard time getting a group together to play with me. I have no idea if there is such a thing as a tea themed card or board game, but if there is, that would be awesome!

10) What treat would you consider essential at your tea party? (Sweet? Salty? Scones? Those petite pastry trays with a couple of all sorts of things? Little crust less sandwiches?)

If I’m throwing it, I try to at least have some cookies. If I’m paying for it, it better have a full three tier tray with scones, tea sandwiches, and pastries.

11) When buying yarn for a project how do you choose – do you buy the one called for or do you substitute?

I usually substitute, unless I think it’s something that’s really stretching my skill level, or happens to already be for a yarn I like or have.

12) What do you carry your knitting/crocheting in when on the go?

One of my 8 trillion bags, with my little pencil case I use for row counters, stitch markers, scissors, needles, etc. But don’t let the 8 trillion fool you. I’m always eying up knitting bags. Especially those kind of boxy shaped ones with a handle at one end and a hole for your yarn to go through. Those things are cool! I love organizing things and specialized items. I mostly just have tote bags right now.

13) Favorite movie to watch while knitting/crocheting?

David Attenborough documentaries.

14) Are you a traditional tea cup kind of person or a mug type of person? Do you care if they match?

On my own at home – definitely a mug person. Out at a fancy tea shop – I definitely want my fancy tea cup. I prefer coordinating to matching.

15) Favorite childhood birthday party?

I remember having clowns at a party when I was very young. They were doing a bit about not being able to get a coat on. I went inside to get my coat and showed them how to do it. This demonstrates much of the core of who I am, overly literal, very serious, and earnestly helpful. And a little dense sometimes. 🙂

16) Favorite type of scone and jam?

That’s tough. Plain is good, as are many flavors, blueberry, pumpkin, almond, chocolate, cinnamon …. Yum scones … My favorite jam is raspberry. I also like cherry, blackberry, and boysenberry.

17) If you use candles, what is your favorite scent?

I like food scents: banana bread, pumpkin pie, coconut, chocolate, cookie, cake, yum.

18) If you could choose 3 people to have ‘tea’ with, who would they be and why? (famous or not, living or dead).

I think it would have to be my family, nice and cozy, friendly and familiar.

19) You’ve been invited to a tea party, what ‘props’ will you wear (formal or casual)?

Casual for sure, no props.

20) Any allergies/preferences you have or are willing to admit to?

For this swap, please consider me vegan, I’m not perfectly so in my daily life, but I try. So no animal fiber yarn please, no pastries or mixes with eggs or milk in them and no treats with gelatin. I am happy to answer any questions about products and point out brands and sites that cater towards vegans. Honestly I’ve been slipping a little in my pastry consumption, and I’d like to get back on track. I love to cook, and I’m about to have some more time to do so, so I’m looking forward to having more home cooked and healthier meals and treats.

21) Anything we missed that you want your pal to know?

I really like stationary and hand printed/letterpress items. And deep sea creatures. I think tea shops should be Victorian and floral, but don’t much care for that style in my own home. I prefer the etsy vibe. I’m also on Ravelry. I try to be eco friendly and do my part, so sustainable and organic is always good. I like to try new/weird yarns. I haven’t tried corn yet. I’m interested in linen. I’ve also been eying up this butter bamboo for a shirt like one of the ones on that tea set link above.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2007 in questionnaires and gift lists, swap

 

2 responses to “Swap-a-holic

  1. Chan

    August 9, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    You like the cloth tea bags then? I’ve not tried them…

     
  2. ellie

    August 9, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    Absolutely! I have about 4 of them. Each morning I make tea in a new bag and set it in a bowl or on a plate to dry. Once it’s dry I dump the leaves, turn the bag inside out to shake out the last of them and rinse the bag. Maybe once a month I wash the bags with my laundry.

     

Leave a Reply

 
