RSS

The kindness of strangers

11 Aug

dressform Ok, maybe not strangers, but people who you don’t really know all that well, but remember that you knit and obviously don’t think that poorly of you.

So I got an email from a name I recognized, but couldn’t put a face to, offering me some yarn since she was moving. I walked away with three plastic bags of yarn, a bankers box of patterns and a dress form!

There was a lot of nice sugar n’ cream yarn and some miscellany that I’ll be sharing with local knitting friends along with the patterns. The most exciting yarn was this cotton classic, which I love working with, and is a perfect and lovely red, just in time for the red scarf project. I had a fleeting thought that I would use it on sizzle, until I remembered that I actually don’t look good in red. There was also some lace weight cotton that I had another fleeting thought of using for the red scarf project. I told my dad that I had this great yarn, but I didn’t know if I’d be able to find a gender neutral lace pattern. He burst out laughing and I put that yarn in a drawer for next year and a woven scarf. redyarnI told my mom I couldn’t believe someone just up and gave me a dress form. She said, “That sounds like something you would do.” It’s true. So a big thank you to the lovely bestower of these fine treasures and to all of you out there who do the same! Crafters are the best!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2007 in sewing

 

2 responses to “The kindness of strangers

  1. Erin

    August 12, 2007 at 8:07 am

    It’s true, crafters are pretty much the most generous people!

     

Leave a Reply

 
