RSS

Blogiversary Party!

27 Aug

yarnIt’s been two years! Two tumultuous years. I think it’s not an exaggeration to say that this blog and the knitting community are one of the few things that have remained stable in my life over that time. So thanks! And as a token of my appreciation – free yarn! Your choice between a skein of Reynolds Garden Tweed in lovely green and beige or Banana silk in a bright orange/red. (Pictures forthcoming.) You can also select a set of stitch markers (or jewelry or whatever) from my etsy shop.

But since it kills me so to give up perfectly good yarn from my stash, you have to work for it. Submit your 6 word story (write your own or submit a favorite – but please cite the author either way) in the comments and Shawn will pick his favorite. Yup no random number generator today. Submit as many as you like. Duplicates will go to the first person who posted so you might want to read to make sure you’re not repeating. Deadline: September 7th. Spread the word.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2007 in knitting, other bits of life

 

26 responses to “Blogiversary Party!

  1. Christina Mano

    August 27, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    deceptively packaged. Blogfun:) So worth it!
    Congrats on your bloganniversary and all my best,
    Christina

     
  2. Imbrium

    August 27, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    Oooh…I love these.
    My submisison: “At last, her curiosity was satisfied.”
    Some other favorites:
    . nekorb s’tI . retropelet eht esu t’noD (CalMeacham)
    “So soon, already?” lamented the Universe. (Mangetout)
    Here comes dread Cthulhu. Ia! Ia! (pinkfreud)
    Wedding dress for sale, barely used. (Scribble)
    The last Earthman heard a cough. (glee)
    (All from here: http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?t=393679&page=1&pp=50& )

     
  3. Imbrium

    August 27, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    P.S. – Happy blogiversary!

     
  4. Steven

    August 27, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Here goes:
    “Pup or cup, Mashti is deliciousness!”

     
  5. Sally Villarreal

    August 27, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    She didn’t knock. I was horrified.

     
  6. Mary

    August 27, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Happy Bloggiversary!
    Here’s mine, quite appropo given today’s tasks at work:
    Brain for sale, used rarely.

     
  7. Cass

    August 28, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Ooooooooooo Congrats Ellie! Great contest!
    Finally stopping, she knew the truth.
    xoxo

     
  8. debbi

    August 29, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Congrats. Here is mine.
    Must leave comment, …. brain died.

     
  9. Cate

    August 29, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Bat in my house. Send help.
    True story :). I’m in Canada though, so I understand if I don’t qualify.
    Happy Blogaversary.

     
  10. Cate

    August 29, 2007 at 7:47 am

    In the same line…
    Missing city. Country home for sale.
    and…
    House won’t sell. Sanity is lost.

     
  11. Cate

    August 29, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Can’t help it, just two more.
    My Son; World’s smallest hurricane.
    Too much fun. Must stop writing.

     
  12. Cate

    August 29, 2007 at 9:09 am

    argh… that should be.
    My Son; The World’s smallest hurricane.
    sorry.

     
  13. Channon

    August 29, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Happy bloggiversary. A thinking contest. I’m not sure I’m up to it, but here goes:
    Fire trucks should not be green.

     
  14. Nicola

    August 29, 2007 at 10:46 am

    OK, here are three that I just came up with…
    Cleaned teenager’s room…think I’m…uuuuurgh
    must knit…must knit…must knit…
    Entered contest. Won yarn. Oh joy!

     
  15. Heather

    August 29, 2007 at 11:37 am

    It appears that with a peach tree dripping with peaches that I have a one-track mind so here is my story.
    Peaches, peaches everywhere, what to do?
    Happy Blogiversary to you!

     
  16. Katie

    August 29, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    Fun contest! Congrats on your blogiversary. My entry is here:
    Her eyes in the mirror wept.
    I know, cheerry, huh? But it stuck.

     
  17. Donna

    August 29, 2007 at 3:52 pm

    Congrats on the anniversary! Don’t you love blogging! Well, now for the six word story:
    Family Farm. Must sell. A sacrifice.

     
  18. Donna

    August 29, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Wow, this is fun. Here is another:
    A boy and a dog together.

     
  19. Rachel

    August 29, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    Great idea for a contest…since my brain isn’t functioning, I’m borrowing two that crack me up!! I enjoyed skimming through your blog…congrats on the 2-year mark! I’ll be back.
    TIME MACHINE REACHES FUTURE!!! … nobody there …
    – Harry Harrison
    AND my favorite (edited in case small eyes are watching)
    Dorothy: “F@%& it, I’ll stay here.”
    – Steven Meretzky

     
  20. Emily

    August 30, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Happy Blogiversary, Ellie!
    The dog had gotten there first.
    He was born, lived, and died.

     
  21. Jacque

    August 30, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    She came , she knit, she conquered!
    Happy b-versary

     
  22. Laurie

    August 30, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    I like this one
    Gown removed carelessly. Head, less so.
    – Joss Whedon

     
  23. Laurie

    August 30, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    This one too
    We kissed. She melted. Mop please!
    – James Patrick Kelly

     
  24. Alaina

    August 31, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Happy Blogversary!!!…and…many… more!!!
    How about this:
    I came, I saw, I wept.
    I know kinda a downer… what about…
    I stopped, I looked, I laughed.
    Happy knitting.

     
  25. Desiree

    September 5, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I might as well get in on this. =] And since I’m in a melancholy mood:
    Yes, I’m single… the funeral’s Saturday.
    Happy Anniversary!

     

Leave a Reply

 
