RSS

My poor baby!!!

26 Sep

mashtiLittle Mashti has a very deep and serious puncture wound in her left eye. (Most likely from tussling with the cat, but possibly from shoving her face into everything she can find.) She’s a feisty little trooper and doesn’t even seem to realize she has a big plastic cone on her head. I’m glad it looks so silly so at least I can smile a little while I’m busy worrying about her. She has some meds and an appointment with the optometrist on Friday. Wish her luck!

ETA – Shawn just told me the vet said not to worry too much, losing an eye isn’t as big a deal to a dog as it is to a human. How’s that for the exact opposite of reassuring?

Also, probably not the cat – not the right size or shape. No idea what it’s from though, we didn’t see her get hurt, just noticed some squinting that got worse the next day.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2007 in puppy!

 

8 responses to “My poor baby!!!

  1. Cass

    September 26, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Ohhhh poor baby!!! How is she doing with the collar? My poor dog ran into every wall in the house. :p Hope she’s better quick and the optomitrist isn’t too awful expensive!
    xoxo

     
  2. ellie

    September 26, 2007 at 8:22 pm

    She usually hits it on corners, but otherwise is fine. Thanks for the well wishes! (for Mashti and my pocketbook) 😉

     
  3. Kasha

    September 26, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    That sucks, but I’m sure she’ll heal up nicely. And if the eye has to go, you can dress her as a pirate for Halloween–yes!!

     
  4. Cody

    September 26, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Oh, poor baby!
    I was so worried that my cat was going to hurt my Pug-in-law when we all lived together… he managed to give her a scratch on the cheek, but that’s it.
    And yeah… definitely pirate costume. 🙂

     
  5. Nicole

    September 27, 2007 at 2:18 am

    I feel sorry for Mashti and hope that she’ll be better soon.

     
  6. Erin

    September 27, 2007 at 8:03 am

    I’m sure she’ll be fine no matter what happens! But I know what it’s like to worry about a pet and I feel for you! I hope she gets better soon.

     
  7. Steven

    September 27, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Ouch! Poor dear. Here’s hoping she makes a rapid recovery.

     
  8. ellie

    September 28, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    Thanks everyone!!! Here’s hoping to dogs’ eyes being like starfish limbs!

     

Leave a Reply

 
