RSS

Tell me your favorite vegan hand creme

28 Sep

I’m supposed to be using a really heavy duty absorbent/penetrating hand creme (not lotion). The doctor gave me samples of Cetaphil but I’m hoping to find something with ingredients that are a little easier to pronounce. I grabbed some Burt’s Bees Almond Milk Beeswax Hand Creme because it was the most natural, thickest looking, and not tested on animals item they had at the pharmacy (and because I was pretty sure I remembered the salve smelled nasty), but I’d love vegan suggestions if you’ve got ’em.

ETA – Bringing up the “party line” vs. “personal morals/fuzzy grey areas” debate – have any vegans read a lot about Burt’s Bees? One of those products page had info on how they collect the beeswax after the bees have capped their hives up and moved on to a new hive, and check out their values page.  They seem like a company worth getting behind. Your thoughts?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2007 in other bits of life

 

6 responses to “Tell me your favorite vegan hand creme

  1. Mary

    September 28, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Ummm, maybe I’m just being a bit on the picky side, but I have problems pronouncing some of the ingredients in burt’s bees…
    When I was teaching and using a chalk board? I used Neutrogena Norwegian Formula. No, it’s not vegan, but it worked very well for my chalk-chapped hands and only smelled a little like “little old lady.” Also, it is made out of many of the same ingredients as burt’s’, but no fragrance.

     
  2. ellie

    September 28, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    Yeah, I noticed that – on my bottle there are parenthesis after more of them than they have on the website.
    sweet almond oil, water, beeswax, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, kaolin (natural clay), fragrance, citrus grandis (grapefruit) seed extract, stearic acid (vegetable fat), glucose, tocopherol (vitamin E), chondrus crispus (carrageenan) extract, sodium borate (natural borax), glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase (natural enzymes)
    so I was counting the parenthesis as pronounceable.
    Thanks for the tip!

     
  3. Nicole

    September 29, 2007 at 2:36 am

    In the US you probably can’t get the two kinds I’m using during the day (Sante and Lavera). At night I’m using shea butter though. I really like it, because it won’t let your hands feel dry for the whole night and depending on the brand there should be nothing but shea butter in it.

     
  4. Kasha

    September 29, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    Have you tried Carol’s Daughter products?

     
  5. Cody

    September 29, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    I haven’t read too much about Burt’s Bees, but because it’s much easier to find than a lot of brands I know are better, I guess I consider it a “better than nothing” sort of deal.
    And a decent vegan moisturizer/body cream is something on my list of wants, too. I haven’t had much luck finding something that isn’t either worthless or too greasy.

     
  6. C.A.G.

    September 30, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Er…probably not vegan, going by the name, but how ’bout “Udderly Smooth,” available at your local CVS? Allegedly made to soothe milkmaids’ hands, this stuff is hella thick and might suit your needs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
