RSS

Thank you tea swap pal!

14 Oct

I’ve had house guests the last three weekends in a row*, been dealing with poor little Mashti’s drops and pills 4 times a day**, found out I have eczema*** and have been dealing with creams and gloves and not getting my hands wet and not sweating, which is particularly difficult since Shawn and I just started Wing Tsun****. Oh, and I scraped a whole bunch of nasty popcorn texture off the guest room ceiling and plastered it and helped Shawn lay hardwood flooring in his studio. I am so sore in so many places. There’s also some exciting and positive but stressful possibilities looming at work that I’m not sure how I’m going to handle yet.*****

So that’s what I’ve been up to. Mostly I want to finish painting the guest room so I can reclaim my bedroom from all the detritus created by the wonderful hard work that Shawn and his dad started three weeks ago.******

So you can imagine what a perfect treat it was to come home to such a fabulous swap package.

teaswap

A beautiful (yet impossible to photograph) handmade tea time cloth (it says Tea Time and has a little tea pot and it’s incredibly well done!).

dsc04492

An adorable teacup themed pincushion, bumble bee tape measure, matching stitchmarkers (I’m assuming also handmade, but not sure), and Suss twisted cotton slub yarn. And let me tell you, I have ooed and ahhhed over Blue Sky Alpaca’s cotton, but this stuff takes the cake! I’m thinking eventually a really classy scarf for myself. Not sure what else to do with two skeins that will allow me to touch it all the time.

goodies

Some super cool stationary: a notepad, note cards, and a note book that happens to be exactly the kind I use for grocery lists.

notebooks

And of course, the tea! An incredibly hip tea set with filters and a little tea bag rest exactly like I wanted, only better, because I can’t break this one. Shawn and I both thank you for making our kitchen counter much less tacky. I plan to take the tea filters, tea set and Irish breakfast tea to work. I’m planning to get a little hot water pot and having quite the cozy little morning ritual.

teapot

And last, but not least, a jungle gym for B! She loves it! Thank you!

box

* All wonderful people, but I’m still happy to have the place back to myself.
** The Dr. says she’s doing great and won’t have any vision loss!
*** It’s pretty mild from what I hear for comparison. The weird thing is that mine hurts rather than itches.
**** I’m allowed to wear my silly cotton gloves in class. I cut off the finger tips to make myself feel less ridiculous.
***** Real life friends – feel free to email me for more details.
****** That’s three weeks that I haven’t been able to move comfortably through the bedroom because of extra bookshelves, TVs, couches, etc. The new floor, lack of mold, and finished trimming around the baseboards is definitely lovely and worth it. I’m just ready for it to be done!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2007 in other bits of life, swap

 

6 responses to “Thank you tea swap pal!

  1. Anne

    October 15, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad it arrived and that you liked it : ) Hopefully there are some things there you will enjoy.

     
  2. Chan

    October 15, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Oooh! Ahhhh! What a great tea set. I’m pondering an electric kettle for work myself. My mother inlaw is drinking tea a couple of days a week now, and I bet if I made us a pot every morning, she’d drink with me!

     
  3. Erin

    October 18, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Wow, it sounds like a lot has been going on with you! But what a way to make the stress go away by getting a nice swap package! I love that tea set you got, very cute!

     
  4. Cass

    October 18, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    THAT is the coolest tea set EVER!!!!

     
  5. Mary

    October 29, 2007 at 9:03 pm

    Oh what a fabulous package you recieved!!! I love the teapot and cup set..how retro looking! Nice colors too 🙂
    I sure hope you feel better soon, tea is good for stress!
    Enjoy!!

     
  6. ellie

    October 31, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Isn’t it lovely?! And thanks! Things are starting to calm down some. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
