RSS

Lemonade

29 Dec

I sat down with dad and we had a serious discussion about Drunken Argyle. We decided that if I steeked it it would still be too broad in the shoulders and no way after all that work did I want to give him anything he didn’t absolutely love. Steeking it would also make a big portion of the yarn un-reusable. We also agreed that if I’m going to reknit it there’s no point in using the same yarn since it could mysteriously grow again when we get it wet, or, you know, look at it funny – since growing is this sweater’s all time favorite thing to do despite the fact that I didn’t find any complaints about the sweater or the yarn on Ravelry or the internet in general (we won’t worry about the fact that my dad’s crazy slow dial up plus incredibly overzealous* security software means I didn’t really get to look all that hard). Any way you sliced it Drunken Argyle was a big lolcat FAIL.

So I’m going to make another one.

Yes.

Sure it took forever, but infinity times infinity is still infinity. I put two years (sure, interrupted by both traumatic and blissful life events, but still two years) into this thing, what’s another go at it?

Dad’s thinking a 70/30 wool acrylic blend. When I get back to the land of high speed internet I’ll send him some choices. The good news is maybe he can have the deeper red and darker grey that he wanted if we’re going broader with the yarn choices.

The other good news… It does happen to fit my incredibly awesome friend Scott. Scott held the undisputed hands down best guy friend status throughout junior high and high school. And even though I’ve moved all over the place, I visit every Christmas and we pick up just the same as if I were over every weekend. This visit included three rounds of Killer Bunnies some excellent conversation about the fossil record, the myth of race, the upcoming elections, changing perspectives of time (when did 50 years ago go from ancient history to damn near yesterday in my mind?), privacy, issues in librarianship, and, of course – Ninja Warrior.

dafits1 dafits2

*Seriously, why is it blocking the wikipedia page on steeking? Or half of my own blog posts, let alone Eunny’s

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2007 in knitting

 

5 responses to “Lemonade

  1. Kasha

    December 30, 2007 at 2:52 am

    White people talk about race?

     
  2. Cass

    December 30, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Oohhhhhhhhh it looks like it was made for him! I can’t BELIEVE you’re going to make another. Now that’s love!

     
  3. Steven

    December 30, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    Way to re-purpose! What better idea than to give this to someone you love who can wear it. And good for you for tackling it again. I just frogged half a sweater and am starting over. As my friend Janelle says, “You’re just going to knit something else, right?”

     
  4. katie

    January 2, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I’m not sure how other acrylic blends act but I made a sweater once out of Wool-ease that grew, grew, and grew some more. Unfortunately, the swatch I had made didn’t show any signs of the growing that was to ensue.
    Good for you for starting over though! I’m preparing myself for the inevitable frogging of my Wildflower Cardigan tonight, it’s just too big. But I’m also casting right on for it again.

     
  5. ellie

    January 5, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Kasha – Totally! Especially geeky ones who are interested in the fossil record and watch the Eyes of Nye (he had an episode on race – http://www.eyesofnye.org/ – episode 8) and watch the NY Public Library’s interview with Clinton’s chair of the President’s Initiative on Race (http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/pep/pepdesc.cfm?id=1472) and a PBS show that I can’t remember the name of right now.
    Cass – šŸ™‚ Thanks. I think the 2nd one won’t be quite so daunting.
    Steven – I like Janelle’s attitude!
    Katie – Thanks for the tip. I’ll be sure to research my yarn as much as possible. Good luck with Wildflower!

     

Leave a Reply

 
