RSS

It’s the little things

18 Feb

sticksSo I am super proud of these warp sticks. I know they don’t look like anything special, but I bought 4 pieces of 10 foot trim and chopped them down to 28.5″ pieces and sanded them with 100 and then 210 grit and it only took me 2 terribly large and painful splinters to realize I should be wearing gloves while I’m sanding so recklessly. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it here before or not, but one of my retirement dreams is to have a huge wood shop. (The other one is to have a crazy multi-room train basement.) Cutting and sanding these buggers is one of the most satisfying things I’ve done in a while. What I really need is a belt sander to finish off the ends. They’re really sloppy because I was too lazy to get out a saw so I cut them with pruning sheers. If I don’t get a bite from my weaving guild I might see if I can use the one at my college or at a local shop, since I also have mild aspirations to take some woodworking classes…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2008 in weaving

 

Leave a Reply

 
