RSS

Born Crafter

26 Mar

Another relic dug up from clearing out my childhood room – my hippie pants. It all started with a pair of my dad’s old bell bottoms and my mom doing some spring cleaning. He didn’t want them anymore because she had patched a big hole with a butterfly. She was going to get rid of them but I wanted them. And I wanted embroidery lessons so I could add more butterflies! I had been cross stitching and making friendship bracelets since elementary school so I had the embroidery floss. Mom hooked me up with some patterns and I went to town. Eventually the crotch wore out on one pair and I couldn’t bear to part with them. At first I tried patching, then wearing them with boxers. Eventually I had to declare defeat, but at the last minute I decided to sew the legs onto an old pair of shorts. This was actually not quite as hideous as it looks since the shirts I would wear with them were those long flowy things that fell past the shorts area.

I particularly love the embroidery down the side:

It reads “love endures all understanding.” This was something a crush had written on my shoe back in the days when we were all writing on each others chuck taylors. I had always assumed it was some famous quote. Now thanks to the internet I can confirm that it is not. In fact a few days ago it got me zero hits off of google. (Now it has some religious site, but still, only 1 hit.)

 

2 responses to “Born Crafter

  1. Kasha

    March 26, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    The most horrible ‘pants’ ever! I’m stunned and speechless.

     
  2. ellie

    March 27, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    at least i stopped wearing them. eventually…. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
