RSS

Vegan Scrapple

28 Apr

I didn’t set out to make vegan scrapple. I could make some joke about not knowing why anyone ever would, but I actually liked scrapple as a kid. One of my uncles was pleasantly surprised to find out how much I enjoyed a nice breakfast of scrapple and fried mush with lots of butter and a little syrup. “Why you’ve got a little bit of country in you after all.”

But no, this started as a second go round of the pupusas. Then I got lazy and started stirring my fillings right into the dough. I had some black beans that I had cooked using a recipe from Fresh and Fast Vegan Pleasures (stir-fried black beans with lime and chili – yum!) and tossed in lime juice, cilantro and some vegan cheese. What I wound up with didn’t really keep its shape, isn’t really a pupusa, but sure did taste good!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2008 in yummy in my tummy

 

4 responses to “Vegan Scrapple

  1. Erin

    April 29, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I just watched that improveverywhere… how awesome is that. I’m pretty sure if I happened to be somewhere where that happened I wouldn’t be one of the onlookers who looked confused, I’d probably be like one of the little kids, totally enjoying every minute of it!

     
  2. ellie

    April 30, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Me too! and taking pictures. 🙂

     
  3. Teresa

    April 30, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    That’s funny – I was just reading a post about vegan scrapple over at http://urbanvegan.blogspot.com/2008/04/what-hell-is-scrapple-and-where-do-you.html
    I’m not sure I want to try it ‘though…

     
  4. ellie

    May 1, 2008 at 11:48 am

    That is such a great post – I love the commenters! Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
