RSS

Color Study Group

06 Sep

I’m in a color study group with my weaving guild. We spent a couple of days together measuring out the warps and warping the looms together. Now we’re passing the various table looms among the members and everyone will weave about a hand towel length’s worth before passing it on to the next member.

I’m the first person on this particular pattern, called “gray matters.” I noticed a threading error right away and after consulting with one of the coordinators of the whole thing, I cut off the offending heddle and made a string heddle in the right place. I was pretty tickled with myself. 🙂

So now I’m trucking along, more than halfway done. My advice for next time though is to have one of the more experienced weavers go first. I had a lot of tension issues and I did my best and hopefully it will all be fine for the next person, but I think it would have gone more smoothly had someone better done the adjustments.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2008 in weaving

 

3 responses to “Color Study Group

  1. Claire

    September 26, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    what are those thick bright pink cords for? Is it to make the beginning of the weaving more even?

     
  2. ellie

    September 26, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Yup!

     

Leave a Reply

 
