RSS

It’s only a flesh wound

10 Sep

How embarrassing!  I had my wood working class last night and all was going swimmingly. I took my turn putting a big piece of plywood through a table saw, I used the router to make my rabbetts, I used a different table saw to make my dado cuts, I used the band saw to make some smaller side cuts. I was doing great! Then I went to use the table saw all by myself and I guess I wasn’t holding my wood down hard enough because the blade kicked it back at me and it hit me in the hip. I let out a startled yelp and scared the teacher and the rest of the class half to death. (I was fine, but I startle really really easily, so it was quite the yelp.) The wood scraped a thin layer of skin off part of my pinky, so there was a little blood, but I had to keep explaining that I did not cut myself, I was OK, I was just startled, I didn’t touch the blade, it just kicked the wood at me, the cut was really just a little scrape. Luckily my piece was only slightly mangled, not ruined, so my toolbox side is maybe 1/4 of an inch shorter than I had planned, but that’s about it. The teacher fixed my busted piece while I was still a little shaken and he went to do the other side, but I stopped him to ask if I could try it again. He looked at me dubiously, but let me. I was extra careful and had no problem. Then we went for a bandaid and antiseptic wipe.

I’m only taking this class for fun and remember thinking I wasn’t going to worry about my grade, I was even thinking about asking to audit it, but now that I’m here with my type A, perfectionist, teacher’s pet self, I really hope this doesn’t hurt my grade and I hope I got cred points with the teacher for jumping right back and doing it right the second time. 🙂

And now! To distract you from my stupidity, knitting!

I know it doesn’t look like much, but it’s about 2/3 of a teddybear. I’ve since run out of the white and bought a fairly similar replacement. (The original white is from the 90’s and I don’t have any idea what it is.) If the new yarn doesn’t turn out to be a good match I might end up frogging the whole thing and using the new yarn, which should be enough for a whole bear.

Also, damn my pinky hurts!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2008 in general craftiness, knitting, other bits of life

 

3 responses to “It’s only a flesh wound

  1. Alissa

    September 10, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Oh that same exact thing happened to me once (I worked in the theater scene shop tons through out college) and it made me cry! Not hurt at all but it scared the bejesus out of me!! I too was so embarrassed!

     
  2. Cass

    September 10, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Oh man you’re lucky that’s all you did! I was cringing reading- waiting for something bad! My Geek cut his thumb off a couple of summer’s ago on a skill saw. =O Not pretty.
    Glad you’re okay! We’ll see pics of the finished project, right? 🙂
    XOXO

     
  3. ellie

    September 11, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Off? Like fully clean off? Eeeeeeep!
    And yes, finished pics will be forthcoming. Once it’s finished. We still have to do the handles and final assembly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
