RSS

Miscellany

13 Mar

I thought I’d post a little catch up since my dad (of all people) has been complaining that I’m not posting often enough anymore.

I’ve been insanely busy for the last several months. In October I left my relationship, my house, and my puppies, which was of course, incredibly difficult. I got an adorable new place (a two story garage apartment, so I still have a craft room) and started dating again (and have since met someone fantastic). Since June I’ve been the Vice President of my weaving guild which is the position in charge of organizing all of our monthly programs. Then in the fall our President had a family emergency that required her leaving the state, so I’ve taken on her responsibilities of running the regular meetings and the board meetings too. In January I returned to my night job for an additional 12 hours a week. Plus I’ve been writing articles for a group library blog and making sure to make time to see my friends. I feel like there’s more, but I guess that’s plenty. So with all of that going on, crafting time has been scarce.

But there’s a weaving conference coming up and I was determined to have my skirt finished for the fashion show. (Scroll through the posts marked weaving for pictures of the fabric being woven.) I was up until 3am on Tuesday to make the postmark date.

I also picked up some fabric at a local shop’s going out of business sale. I think I’m a little shy of 2 yards. I just bought what was left on the bolt. I have no idea what I’m going to do with it, but I’ve always loved bandanna fabric.

And I’ve been working on my dishcloth a little at some weaving guild events:

I forget if I mentioned it, but I got that yarn from a shop during a yarn crawl. Here was the rest of my haul that day:

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2009 in knitting, other bits of life, sewing, weaving

 

5 responses to “Miscellany

  1. Alissa

    March 13, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    I think that the skirt deserves a blog post all it’s own! Beautiful! Did you use a pattern?? I need to start making myself some skirts. I haven’t dared to dive into clothing!

     
  2. katie

    March 14, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Cute skirt!!

     
  3. ellie

    March 14, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Thanks guys! I kind of cobbled together 2 different patterns: “hip skirts” by favorite things (favoritethings.net) combined with the yoke and zipper from simplicty 4546.

     
  4. claire

    March 17, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Came out well!
    Was it weird sewing with fabric you wove, since the fabric you practiced with was a regular quilters cotton weight? Did you have to make adjustments (like bigger seam allowances or extra finishing on the inside seams?

     
  5. ellie

    March 20, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    I did decide to interface the whole thing to not worry about raveling. And there was one place where I changed something because there was no way I was going to be able to sew through so many fat layers. But now I forget what it was…

     

Leave a Reply

 
