RSS

Catching my breath

04 Apr

After Spring break in LA, I was off to San Antonio for a weaving conference and then to Houston for a library conference. Plus I gave three presentations last week. While everything was fun and the presentations all went very well, I’m incredibly excited to finally be getting a chance to slow down and catch my breath.

I signed up for a local CSA and got my first basket of veggies yesterday, so today I’ve been looking at recipes and seeing what else I need. I got a lot of greens and I want to cook the ones I can before they go bad and get a couple of things to fill out salads with the rest. Tonight I’m going to catch up on laundry and cleaning while I cook, and maybe even get a little weaving in. I didn’t finish my guild color challenge dish towels before the conference, but I’m still going to make them. Then tomorrow I’m going to make soft pretzels with a friend.

The weaving conference was a ton of fun. I finally got my Hokett hand loom. Pictures coming soon. In the meantime here’s some knitting I finished up that weekend.

The organic cotton dishcloth for myself:

And a cotton dishcloth for a friend:

They were both really easy conference knitting and I’m loving using handknitted dishcloths.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 4, 2009 in knitting, other bits of life

 

2 responses to “Catching my breath

  1. Steven

    April 6, 2009 at 10:13 am

    The dishcloths look great — and you’ll love the CSA. My friends in Pennsylvania belong to one and they rave about it all the time. Mmmmm…turnip greens! Having East Texas in-laws I get to eat these from time to time. Yummy!

     
  2. ellie

    April 6, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Thanks! I’m looking forward to learning about new veggies and eating more of them. I’m (sadly) one of the least veggie eating vegetarians I know. I’m all about the starches! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
