RSS

Vegan MoFo: Day 10

10 Oct
thali

thali plate

I tried a new (to me) Indian restaurant today – Bombay Express. Here’s my review:

“What’s on your thali plate today?”

“A vegetable korma, which is…”

“I’ll take that.” (I love korma!)

“Do you want to hear the rest?”

“Nope. Can I get the vegan option.”

“The korma isn’t vegan, I can swap it with the chickpeas.”

dosa

HUGE dosa

I’m a little sad I forgot that korma is cream based, but not at all sad that I still went with the thali. Also, major props to the staff for knowing what’s vegan and what isn’t without having to run ask someone. AND, you can’t tell from the online menu very obviously, but almost everything on the menu either already is, or can be made vegan (korma wasn’t on the regular menu). And the portions are totally filling. I will say that I’m used to taking home left overs when I go out to eat because typical portions are so huge, so if you’re someone who always cleans your plate on American super sized portions you may want to get an additional side. My friend got a dosa and samosas and took one of the samosas home. I did manage to finish my thali and I left completely stuffed and completely satisfied. I can’t wait to go back.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2009 in veganmofo 2009, yummy in my tummy

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Vegan MoFo: Day 10

  1. cookingforaveganlover

    October 12, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Yum I love dosas

     
    • ellie

      October 12, 2009 at 11:49 am

      I have to admit, I’m not a huge fan. I’d usually rather have a curry. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
