RSS

The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur – Book review and giveaway

23 Jan

Back around when Vegan MoFo was starting up Skyhorse publishing left me a comment offering two books for me to review (The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur and The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life). I accepted and then didn’t hear anything. I assumed that upon further inspection they realized what small potatoes I was and (understandably) changed their minds. In fact, I even forgot which books they had offered. So when I won a copy of The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur I didn’t realize this was one of the books that was potentially coming my way. Then, several weeks after MoFo wrapped, the package from Skyhorse Publishing arrived, beaten and bruised. The books were fine, but apparently the package had come open and been marked damaged, repackaged and maybe lost for a while too. So apologies to Skyhorse and the authors for my very belated reviews when I’m sure you were all trying to do a big MoFo push.

And with that background out of the way, I will say that I have nothing but rave reviews for The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur. First off, it’s a beautiful book. There are full color glossy photos for every cookie. Second off, the cookies are fantastic. So far I’ve made:

and they have all turned out great. The recipes are simple, easy to follow, and (other than alcohol) never called for ingredients I didn’t already have on hand. (Though there are some more complicated recipes in there that I haven’t tried yet if that’s more your thing.) I’m particularly excited to have a cookie cookbook since cookies are so fun and quick. I have a bunch of pretty jars I keep on my counter and I like to keep at least one of them filled with cookies. I also have people over pretty often and like to have treats to offer. So far I’ve avoided Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar because, as I’ve mentioned before, I have not had good luck with any of the baked goods from Veganomicon. (Love the main course recipes and love VwaV, but not the baked goods.) I am interested in seeing the errata for the Vegan Cookie Connoisseur when it comes out though. It could just be my wonky oven, but I had to cook most of the cookies I made an extra 5-10 minutes, but that’s a pretty minor quibble.

I want to rave about the oatmeal cookies in particular. I have been on the hunt for really chewy really oatmealy vegan oatmeal cookies for ages and I finally have my winner. The PB&J Thumbprints are probably my next favorite. All of the cookies I’ve made get tested by my omni fiance and D&D group and they’ve all been huge successes and even gotten the, “really, they’re vegan?” incredulous look, so I definitely definitely recommend picking up a copy (or checking your local library).

And now for the giveaway. Since I have an extra copy, leave a comment with a link to a favorite vegan baked goods (cookie, scone, coffee cake, etc.) recipe and I’ll do the random number generator thing at 1pm, January 30th.

****

Congratulations Claire!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in veganmofo 2010, yummy in my tummy

 

4 responses to “The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur – Book review and giveaway

  1. Ashley

    January 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm

     
  2. Claire

    January 24, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Can I enter without a link… I don’t often go online for specifically vegan cooking… I just eat yours!

     
    • ellie

      January 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

      Yes Claire, I’ll let you off the hook. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
