RSS

The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life – Book Review

07 May

I received copies of The Vegan Girl’s Guide to Life along with The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur a few weeks after the last Vegan MoFo. (Full story on the review for The Vegan Cookie Connoisseur.) I now, very belatedly, offer my review.

I think both Melisser Elliot and the book are super cute, but I had a really hard time forcing myself to sit down with it at first. By the end I had several post-it flags marking things to come back and try, but if I hadn’t agreed to do a book review, I’m not sure I would have made it that far in. Or maybe I just would have skipped ahead sooner?

Once I got farther in though, my post-it flags started flying. I bookmarked sections on creating your own natural cleaners, vegan beauty products, and a ton of the recipes.

A main feature of the book is full color profiles of vegans, mostly bloggers and/or store owners. These were attractive and introduced me to a few shops that I went and checked out online, but I also felt they often interrupted the flow of reading the main text of the book. It was awkward to have to flip forward two pages to finish a sentence or paragraph and then flip back again to read the profiles.

I think the main problem for me with this book was that the first half of the book wasn’t designed for me. It seems more designed for new vegans. Or even more so for people questioning whether to become vegan.  The book opens with a lot of information on what veganism is, why people choose to go vegan, different types of vegans, and being an activist.  I think it’s probably an excellent addition to that area, it’s just not what I was expecting from the title. Where are my crafts, recipes and beauty secrets?

Melisser may not have even had a say in the title, I know that happens, but I feel it was a pretty misleading representation of the bulk of the book. A better summary might be something more like: an introduction to veganism including a shopping guide highlighting vegan businesses, a bunch of recipes and couple projects.

But lest this review seem too negative, I do want to point out, I’m not offering it up for giveaway. I want to make too many of the recipes. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 7, 2011 in veganmofo 2010, yummy in my tummy

 

Leave a Reply

 
