RSS

Lazy Day

29 Jun

I got the quilt back finished for my cousin’s baby quilt and pinned it all up.

I did some quilting too, but I don’t have a walking foot and the tight lines I was doing were stretching the fabric and making the back pattern weird and wavy. So I’ll be ripping it out and waiting for my new foot set to come in the mail.

I’m still very new to quilting, so if you have tips, I’m all ears. In the meantime, I’ve got a bunch of quilting books (Jelly Roll Inspirations, Fresh Cuts, and Denyse Schmidt Quilts) out from the library and will be going through some of them soon.

I also made the Creamy Broccoli Mushroom Bake from Vegan Yum Yum. I have to say, it was just OK.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in sewing, yummy in my tummy

 

2 responses to “Lazy Day

  1. Alissa

    June 30, 2011 at 2:11 am

    Tip number one for this specific issue is get a walking foot, so you’re all set there! From there, check if your machine allows for you to adjust the presser foot pressure. If it does, you’ll want to lighten the pressure when you quilt dense straight lines like this. Matters much less for free motion but makes a big difference with straight lines! Good luck!

     
    • ellie

      July 1, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Thanks Alissa!

       

Leave a Reply

 
