RSS

Thanksgiving = Yum!

26 Nov

tgiving1I went to visit the family for Thanksgiving. The trucks are in the neighborhood laying the cables for the high speed internet, so one of these days going home won’t be stepping into a technology free vortex. I’m not sure whether that’s a good thing or not…

Honestly though, I don’t think it will change things much except that the addition of the Sci-Fi channel will expand our television options – not that we ever run out as it is. This time round it was Stargate SG1. Good times. I wonder if I can convince my dad to get TiVo…

Do you see how beautiful my parents’ house is? The lovely fall colors… The owl on the windowsill to stop the birds from smashing in to the house! That’s when you know you’re in the real woods. Our Thanksgiving spread was phenomenal. We had all the regular trimmings plus pan seared seitan with flour and poultry seasoning. Sooooooo good.

I also finished the front of Drunken Argyle! Can you even believe it? I’m going to block it this weekend with the help of an expert. I’ll take pictures then.

Mtgiving3y other excitement is that I learned to shoot! (An air rifle…) I’m pretty much against guns and am constantly reminding Shawn that he’s not allowed to get one, but at the same time I feel like being able to handle a gun is a skill I should learn. Mostly because I watch too many bad movies. You know, like if it turns out Shawn is really a secret agent and I get kidnapped and he rescues me and tosses me a gun as we try to escape… I want to be able to hold my own. Friends who want to see a million pictures of me and my family with our eyes to the scope – drop me a line, I’ll hook you up. Yeah, there’s a scope. My dad doesn’t mess around.

tgiving2

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2007 in other bits of life, yummy in my tummy

 

4 responses to “Thanksgiving = Yum!

  1. Cass

    November 27, 2007 at 6:07 am

    WOW That’s a gorgeous table! I’m jealous of your seitan. Welcome back and I can’t wait to see pics of the D. Argyle!
    xoxo

     
  2. ellie

    November 27, 2007 at 10:43 am

    You should be. My mom rocks! She can veganize recipes like nobody’s business. D.A. is getting blocked on Sunday!

     
  3. Erin

    November 27, 2007 at 10:54 am

    I’m really not for guns either. I’ve tried skeet shooting (didn’t hit one!) and I just can’t handle one of those. It seems the only thing I can shoot properly is a dart gun for anesthetizing animals. With that thing, I’m right on the money!

     
  4. ellie

    November 27, 2007 at 11:04 am

    And that’s where it counts!
    When I was a kid we’d go visit my uncles for their hunting lodge’s annual pig roast (yeah, my family is country – my brother got to name one of the coon dogs – copilot) and one of my strongest memories from that is wandering the fields with my cousins looking for skeets. You’d get a nickel for every one you brought back.

     

Leave a comment