RSS

Wyvern no longer

22 Dec

I bailed on the wyvern socks. I wasn’t really enjoying it and they didn’t seem likely to convert me from my current sock choices (stockings for work, cotton athletic socks for casual) AND my best friend requested glittons for Christmas. So wyvern is being reborn as Broad Street Mittens. Her hands are a little bigger than mine, but I’m worried that these are going to be too big and that I’m going to run out of yarn. The very poor plan for now is to keep going and hope that I at least have enough for the fingerless mitten part and then either buy compatible yarn for the glove part, or consider this a tester and buy her brand new yarn for her final real pair.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2008 in knitting

 

2 responses to “Wyvern no longer

  1. Steven

    December 24, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Some socks just need to be abandoned. It’s nature’s way. But so cool about the glittons! I’ve been looking for a pattern for these ever since I saw a similar pattern in a book a while back. And it’s on Knitty. Yay! I’ve never knit for the hand before, but I’m definitely going to give these a try. Thanks for sharing!

     
  2. ellie

    December 24, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Yay! Glad I could help. I will say that the hand is running a bit baggy and the fingers are snug – so I would try on and adjust as you go along. Or use a more trusted glove pattern and then pull the mitten over part from here.

     

Leave a comment