RSS

Kitchen sink

01 Aug

Hello! Boy oh boy. Busy busy busy. I’ve been working 8am to 8pm Monday through Thursday and 8am to 5pm on Fridays. I’ve moved into my new place and was away to visit my family for a long weekend. I’m trying to get unpacked, run errands, catch up with friends, knit, apply for jobs, do laundry, take care of little B, pay my bills, do transcription, see my sweetheart, and pack breakfast, lunch, and dinner, etc., etc. all between 9pm and midnight.

Knitting: I’ve finished Something Red. I’ll try to get some pictures that do it justice. But I absolutely love it. It is so soft and so pretty. The yarn does shed like crazy and I could have knit a smaller size. And I might still. I love it that much.

My trip home:

I got a haircut. Bangs and more layers.

My brother got kittens. They are splendidly fun. Despite looking totally bored.

My room has been turned into storage, so this was my first trip home sleeping in my brother’s old room, now my mom’s office.

Usually I use the upstairs bathroom as I stay in my room upstairs. Since I was downstairs this trip I used the downstairs bathroom. Look what I found. Do you think my mom has enough old toothbrushes?

In my room, I found this awesome picture.

I think my brother and I look sufficiently different that posting this is acceptable. If I ever mention my unpopularity during my school days I trust no one will doubt me with this evidence. Please note the green nails to match the green in the ruffle. (I distinctly remember people calling it my clown outfit after that ruffle.) Also note the tan panty hose with shorts and the oversized glasses. Classy!

A day late and a dollar short. Purple sheets for project spectrum. (And to match my comforter which has purple trim.)

Started early and finished on time for the neutrals.

OK, that’s it for now. With this schedule I’m not sure how often I’ll be posting. I’ll shoot for weekly though.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2006 in knitting, other bits of life

 

5 responses to “Kitchen sink

  1. Vegan Knitting

    August 2, 2006 at 12:18 am

    Oh boy, where to start!
    That picture! you poor thing! I, too, was unpopular at that age. I, too, wore the worst outfits and makeup and thought I looked good. but I never had a perm and my glasses weren’t that big (although they were still too big).
    I love the kittens and the bangs look great!
    There are many uses for old toothbrushes but I’m not sure she’ll ever use that many!
    I like how your room still has the posters, etc. despite the storage. what a nice big room!

     
  2. anne

    August 2, 2006 at 7:40 am

    Oh yeah, I had a perm too. But I didn’t have sparkly stars surrounding me in pictures…

     
  3. morgan

    August 7, 2006 at 12:39 pm

    It was the 80s. Or, um, maybe it was the 90s. HOW much younger are you than I am, again? In any event, much is forgiveable in the context of the 80s. One of MY favorite outfits was knee-length cutoff ripped jeans, a white t-shirt, a blazer, and, yes… the tan nylons (hey, I lived in MN). And this was a CLASSY outfit. One for which I received COMPLIMENTS. I mean, yes, birthplace of Prince and all, but….. oy. And also, I had a perm. Eeeeeeeeeee.
    In more acceptable fashion news, that cardigan is gorgeous. What yarn is that? it looks like a Rowan blend I had, but, er, I didn’t think you would knit with silk.

     
  4. ellie

    August 9, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    Yes, Morgan, much is forgivable in the context of the 80s. Unfortunately this was the 90s. Early 90s to be sure. But still…
    Thanks on the cardigan. It’s Blue Sky Alpaca’s cotton.

     

Leave a comment